Huge crowds came out to cheer on runners in a wacky annual wheelbarrow race on New Year’s Day.

While some kickstarted their year by taking a dip in the chilly North Sea others took on the traditional race in Ponteland, Northumberland.

Runners taking part in the long-running spectacle push their partner around the course in a wheelbarrow.

Hundreds of spectators gathered on the route for the entertaining event.

The Northern Echo: Hold on tight!Hold on tight! (Image: COLIN MORGAN/LEISUREPICS.CO.UK)

120 people took part in four races starting outside The Blackbird pub with an inclusive race being run for the first time.

CBBC and Newcastle panto star Danny Adams was among those being pushed around in the one-wheeled gardening tool.

The Northern Echo: Star of the Newcastle Theatre Royal pantomime Danny Adams taking part.Star of the Newcastle Theatre Royal pantomime Danny Adams taking part. (Image: COLIN MORGAN/LEISUREPICS.CO.UK)

Clocking the fastest time were James Leiper and Robert Hold who ran the course in six minutes 49 seconds.

Windy conditions lead to slower times with the pair being some 29 seconds slower than their own lap time last year.

The Northern Echo: These runners dressed up as Mario and Luigi.These runners dressed up as Mario and Luigi. (Image: COLIN MORGAN/LEISUREPICS.CO.UK)

The event, organised by the Ponteland 41 Club, is said to have its origins rooted in the 1300s when, during a harsh winter, the Lord of the Manor encouraged residents to go out foraging with wheelbarrows.

The wheelbarrows are sponsored by local businesses and individuals to raise money for St Oswald’s Hospice and Tynedale at Home Hospice.

The Northern Echo: The event takes place on January 1 every year.The event takes place on January 1 every year. (Image: COLIN MORGAN/LEISUREPICS.CO.UK)

Recommended reading:

Get more from The Northern Echo with a digital subscription. With our latest deal you can pay £3 for three months, or get 40% off a 12-month subscription. Click here.

See the full list of winners below

Open Race (Mins/secs)

1st James Leiper & Robert Hold 6.49
2nd Calum Johnson & Lewis Hogg 6.57
3rd Alun Woodward & Rob Laverick 7.15

Ladies Race

1st Lucy Hinds & Abigail Ellam 10.04
2nd Samantha Walton & Yvonne Lees 11.17
3rd Rachel Nichol & Billie Moody 11.22

Inclusive Race

1st Sarah McDougle & Thomas Fretwell 10.04
2nd Jo Shallcross &William Fretwell 11.22
3rd Mark Linkleter & Lewis Wood 11.39

Junior Race

1st Millie & Cate Johnson
2nd Sam & Anna Hines
3rd Ella & John Leiper

Anyone wanting to sponsor a wheelbarrow should contact organiser Andy Lawson at