MARSKE UNITED midfielder Craig Gott was last night named as the Ebac Northern League Player of the Year.

The Seasiders midfielder was a key part of the team which won the club's second title in four years, scoring 20 league goals.

Consett’s Michael Mackay was runner-up, with Sean Taylor from Morpeth Town third.

Marske made it a double when Carl Jarrett was named Manager of the Year at the league’s annual presentation dinner at Durham’s Ramside Hall Hotel.

League secretary Kevin Hewitt was awarded the Arthur Clark Memorial Trophy, which is given to the person who has done most to represent the values of the league. The award was in recognition of his work in dealing with an unprecedented backlog of fixtures due to the inclement weather and the league’s application to the FA to re-adjust its position in the National League system.

Consett forward Michael Sweet was voted the Bob Moreland Young Player of the Year.

League chairman Glenn Youngman said: “It’s been a dramatic and challenging season, but once again teams have shown the quality that runs through our league.

“In particular, congratulations to Craig Gott and Carl Jarrett for their achievements at Marske.

“On a personal note, I’d like to thank all the people on and off the field who have had to work so hard to cope with the bad weather we’ve endured this season, in particular league secretary Kevin Hewitt who has had an unbelievable task trying to make sure that games were played and the hours he put in preparing our application to the FA to re-adjust our position in the National League system.

“Next season will see major changes to the league – with automatic promotion for Marske and Morpeth and new clubs joining us, as the number of teams in each division is reduced to 20. I’m sure that every club will rise to the challenge that the new season will bring.”

West Auckland Town’s Nathan Fisher was the top goal scorer in Division One with 42 goals and Tow Law Town’s Dean Thexton won the Division Two top goal scorer award with 28.