TEESSIDER Terry Bywater is set to compete at his seventh Paralympic Games after being named in Great Britain’s men’s wheelchair basketball squad for Paris.

The 41-year-old from Redcar, who made his debut in Sydney in 2000, is a four-time bronze medallist, including a third-placed finish at Tokyo 2020.

Bywater is joined in the 12-man squad by fellow 2018 World champions Lee Manning, Simon Brown, Harry Brown, Phil Pratt, Gregg Warburton, Abdi Jama and Jim Palmer.

Kyle Marsh and Ben Fox, who helped win European gold last year, and Paralympic debutants Lee Fryer and Peter Cusack complete the selection.

The men’s team will bid to claim an elusive Paralympic gold medal, having previously won multiple bronze and silver, while the women’s squad travel to the French capital seeking a first podium finish.

Middlesbrough-born Bywater said: “It feels absolutely amazing to be going to my seventh Paralympic Games – it’s a dream come true for anybody to make it to one Games, never mind seven.

“We believe that we are the best team in the world and we’ll be hoping to take that gold medal.”

Former World silver medallists Robyn Love, Sophie Carrigill, Charlotte Moore, Laurie Williams, Joy Haizelden, Amy Conroy and Helen Freeman have been included in the women’s squad.

Debutants Jade Atkin, Maddie Martin and Jodie Waite complete the line-up, alongside Katie Morrow and Lucy Robinson.

British Wheelchair Basketball performance director Diccon Edwards said: ”It was incredibly hard to make the selections given the quality and depth across both squads and now the selected players have the opportunity to achieve something special for the whole group and inspire the next generation of wheelchair basketball players.”