JACOB MURPHY is a surprise starter as Newcastle United return to the Champions League stage against AC Milan in the San Siro this evening.

Murphy gets the nod ahead of both Miguel Almiron and Harvey Barnes to start on the right-hand side for the Magpies.

Eddie Howe has made three changes to his starting side in the San Siro with Sandro Tonali and Alexander Isak also selected in the starting XI.

Tonali, who left AC Milan to join Newcastle in a £53m move in the summer, has completed his recovery from a thigh injury and replaces Elliot Anderson in midfield.

Isak will lead the line in attack as he replaces Callum Wilson, who scored the Magpies' weekend winner against Brentford.

There is a place on the substitutes' bench for young goalkeeper Hayden Harris as well as fellow youngsters Lewis Miley, Lewis Hall and Tino Livramento.

Olivier Giroud will be leading the line for AC Milan, flanked by Rafael Leao and Samuel Chukwueze.

AC MILAN (4-3-3): Maignan; Calabria, Thiaw, Tomori, Hernandez; Loftus-Cheek, Krunic, Pobega; Chukwueze, Giroud, Leao.

Subs: Mirante (gk), Sportiello (gk), Bartesaghi, Kjaer, Florenzi, Musah, Pulisic, Reijnders, Adli, Jovic, Okafor.

NEWCASTLE (4-3-3): Pope; Trippier, Schar, Botman, Burn; Guimaraes, Longstaff, Tonali; Murphy, Isak, Gordon.

Subs: Karius (gk), Harris (gk), Dummett, Lascelles, Wilson, Targett, Barnes, Hall, Livramento, Almiron, Anderson, L Miley.