THE Northern League has announced how its two divisions will be structured for the 2022-23 season.

Pickering Town will join Division One, along with Carlisle City and Heaton Stannington, who have been promoted from Division Two.

Billingham Town have been relegated to Division Two, but Penrith have been given a reprieve from relegation, meaning with Consett and North Shields leaving the Northern League to play in NPL East, the First Division will remain at 20 teams.

Durham City have been relegated out of the Northern League, but the FA has increased the number of clubs competing in Division Two from 21 to 22.

That means three new clubs will join Division Two for next season – Prudhoe, who move from the Northern Alliance, Chester-le-Street United, who leave the Wearside League, and Boro Rangers, who step up from the North Riding League.

Prudhoe play their home game at Kimberley Park, where Newcastle University also play, Chester-le-Street United play at the Riverside in Chester-le-Street, while Boro Rangers will be playing their home matches at New Ferens Park in Durham.

Northern League chairman Glenn Youngman said: “We’re delighted to welcome new teams to the league.  I’m sure they will be made to feel very welcome as they travel to new grounds in the region. Expanding the Second Division to 22 teams means more revenue for clubs.

“The close season will give everyone a much-needed break, allowing them to come back raring to go in July. It’s been great to have finished a full season for the first time in three years and I would like to thank everyone involved in our league for all their hard work over the last season.”