TWO Irish footballers based in the North-East have been named in their respective teams of the season voted by members of the Professional Footballers' Association.

Middlesbrough goalkeeper Darren Randolph has been named in the Championship team of the year, while his Republic of Ireland team-mate Aiden McGeady is in the League One equivalent for his performances with Sunderland.

Randolph, a £5m buy from West Ham in 2017, has kept 19 clean sheets in 44 games and has conceded just 39 goals. That gives him the joint best stats alongside Dean Henderson of Sheffield United.

The rest of the best team is a mix of players from the current top six, including three each from Norwich and Leeds and two apiece from Aston Villa and Sheffield United.

McGeady, on the other hand, is the only Sunderland player to have been awarded a place despite a campaign when they are still pushing for an automatic promotion spot in League One.

The 33-year-old – who was also named in the EFL team of the season - has produced the best goalscoring spell of his career. He has regularly produced assists for his team-mates too.

PFA Championship team of the season: Darren Randolph (Boro), Max Aarons (Norwich), Liam Cooper (Leeds), Pontus Jansson (Leeds), Jamal Lewis (Norwich); Jack Grealish (Aston Villa), Oliver Norwood (Sheffield United), Pablo Hernandez (Leeds); Billy Sharp (Sheffield United), Tammy Abraham (Aston Villa), Teemu Pukki (Norwich)

PFA League One team of the season: Adam Davies (Barnsley); Dimitri Cavare (Barnsley), Matt Clarke (Portsmouth), Ethan Pinnock (Barnsley), James Justin (Luton Town); Jamal Lowe (Portsmouth), Alex Mowatt (Barnsley), Aiden McGeady (Sunderland), James Collins (Luton Town), John Marquis (Doncaster Rovers), Kieffer Moore (Barnsley).