HUNDREDS of pupils from King James I Community College, Bishop Auckland, were honoured at the school's annual prize-giving.

Current students were awarded for their attainments, effort and sporting talent on Thursday, while former students collected their A-level and GCSE certificates.

Deputy headteacher Steve Rodchester said the event had been a great success.

Guests included Tony Metcalf, former deputy editor of The Northern Echo and now with Metro International, and Neil Charlton, deputy director of education at Durham Local Education Authority.

Addresses were also given by headteacher Ed Lott and chairman of governors Pat Bake.

The main prize winners were:

Attainment - Nicola Saunders, Phillip Henderson, Alison O'Dowd, Thomas Edmunds, Kirsty Davison, Samantha Lawson, Jane Imrie, Carly Moore, Neil Bell, Katie Keig, Kelly-Anne Sowerby, Lee Mason, Haley Gilmour, Lindsey Stones, Fiona Sangster, Richard Sains, Caroline Stephens, Jamie Walton, Rosemary Edmunds, Rebecca Gilmore, Philip Harnby, Lauren Hudson.

Effort - Mark Sewell, Shauna Nelson, Christopher Kelly, Stephanie Smith, Tanya Keeton, Darryl Melles, Daniel Wall, Kirsty Amos, Robert Peart, Rebecca Daniel, Louise Lawson, Nicola Bainbridge, Lorraine Bentley, Colin Laybourn, Megan Wood, Richard Urch.

Games trophies - Ross Alderson, Ann Carpenter, Gareth Young, Gemma Houlahan, Richard Metcalfe, Rachel Chapman, Andrew Blatchford, Danielle Hodgson, Raymond Ridley, Sarah Agar, Jonathan Smails, Lynsey Oliver.

Subject prizes - chemistry, Lyndsey Gilmour; physics, Mark Heward; English, Lisa Hope; geography, Helen Marley; business studies, Helen Marley; design and technology, Michael Pallister; art, Michael Pallister; media studies, Darren Horner; GNVQ business (int), Roxanne Howard; GNVQ business (adv), Kathryn Moore; GNVQ health and social care (int), Nicola Smith and Shaun Bradford; GNVQ health and social care (adv), Haley Hodgson; GNVQ leisure and tourism, Ross Woods; GNVQ health and social care (foundation), Natalie Clark.

Daniel Lockey Shield - Rosemary Edmunds. Special prize - Paul Hindmarch. Music Prize - Keily Neilson. Lez Rawe trophies - Nicola Saunders and Sarah Paylor. King James I prize - Neal Bell. Douglas Reed Memorial Trophy - Gemma Smith. Bob Raymond Prize - Graham Rispin. Peter Kilmister Memorial Prize - Gareth Young. Andrew Morrison Prize - Hannah Stace. Sidney Biggs Memorial Prize - Victoria Fannan. Mike Simpson Memorial Trophy - Ryan Davison. Laurel Award - Mark Ross. Gordon Cup - Nicola Lamb.