Willington and District League

Hunwick Club moved into second place after they only dropped one point at Hunwick Quarry Burn, who had Leanne Cunningham as their only winner. Mike Jardine, Paul Maddison, Ian Richardson and Robert Todd took the points for the Club.

Willington Market remain four points clear at the top following their whitewash win over the visiting Howden Australian B. The Market's points came from Keith Foster, Trevor Thompson, Alan McAloon, Brian Clough and Staurt Shillan. The Prospect Club, who edged to an odd point win at the Brewer's Droop B, hold third place.

Results: Willington Market 5, Howden Australian B 0; Hunwick Quarry Burn 1, Hunwick Club 4; Willington Commercial 2, Oakenshaw Club 3; Willington Brewer's Droop B 2, Prospect Club 3; Willington FC 2, Sunnybrow Brown Trout 3; Willington Black Horse Tavern 4, Willington Burn 1.

Tow Law Area League

There is certain to be a grandstand finish to the championship as there is only one match left with Tow Law Station and Esh Stag's Head sharing top spot only one point ahead of Sunniside Moss Inn. The two teams from Tow Law New Market are also in with an outside chance as they are only two points adrift of the Moss.

Tow Law New Market B severely dented the Stag's Head chances when they beat their visitors by three points. The Market had singles wins from Margaret Goodwin, Tom Dowson, Doris Elsbury and Phil Spencer with the Stag's replying through Mattie Walker and Bill March. The Market completed the win by taking two of the three doubles.

Tow Law Station moved up to share top spot after they only dropped two points on their visit to Esh McKennas. Sharon Smith, Les Hope, Tom Hauxwell, Michael Bell and Steven Raine took singles points for the Station before Joe Starr scored for the home side.

The Station added two of the doubles points.

Results: Tow Law Cattle Mart 3 Billy Row Club 6; Tow Law North Point 4 Sunniside Comedian 5; Esh Football Club 5 Cornsay Royal Oak 4; Tow Law New Market B 6 Esh Stag's Head 3; Esh Football Club 4 Tow Law New Market A 5; Sunniside Moss Inn 4 Tow Law Rose and Crown 5; Esh McKennas 2 Tow Law Station 7.

Crook League

Lee Airey, just 19 years of age and playing in his first season, represented Crook White Swan and won the singles championship when he beat John Harker of Crook Travellers Rest in the final.

In the semi-finals Airey beat his White Swan teammate, Stephen Murphy, whilst Harker beat Dougie Smailes of Crook Queen's Head.

The doubles championship went to Stephen Todd and Tony Storey of Crook Travellers Rest following their win over Ivor Phillipson and George Pakes of Crook Belle Vue Club in the final. In the semi-finals the Travellers pair had beaten their teammates, David Haygarth and Bill Fairhurst, while the Club pair beat their teammates, Dave Hakin and John Warriner.

Willington League

P W D L Pts

Oakenshaw Club 24 14 5 5 114

Prospect Club 24 13 6 5 112

Willington Cottles 24 10 7 7 106

Black Horse Tavern 24 11 7 6 104

Victoria Club 24 11 6 7 98

Hunwick Joiners Arms 24 10 5 9 97

Brewer's Droop 24 9 7 8 96

Willington Burn 24 8 6 10 91

Black Horse Inn 24 8 5 11 90

Willington Club 24 6 8 10 89

Quarry Burn 24 4 9 11 87

Commercial 24 5 8 11 85

Lion and Unicorn 24 5 5 14 79