Worthington CIU Winter League - The Second Division was the place to find shock results, which left five teams within one point of each other.

The leaders, Sherburn Village failed to score a point on their visit to Crowtrees. Peter McGowan was the unluckiest Sherburn player for he went in-off the re-spotted black. The home winners were Martin Wolfe, Peter Laverick, Sean Johnston, Keith McLaughlan and Sonny Hann.

Langley Park were in second place but only managed to take one point from the visiting Spennymoor B when Kevin Keers won. The Moors winners were Wayne Parry, Phil Wilson, Andy Mole and Alan Rowell.

Meadowfield took the chance to move up to share top spot with Langley Park and Wheatley Hill B with a home win over Newhouse. Meadowfield went two up through Stephen Hughes and John Jackson but Ian Dinsdale and Steve Mountain with a 30 break, levelled the match. In the decider the home side's Ian Hodgson put in a 30 break to beat Kevin Allison.

Wheatley Hill B managed to move to the top despite losing by the odd point at Belmont. The home side had wins from Russell Hancock, Chris Morley and Steve Armstrong with a 33 break. Langley Park and Crowtrees share second place just a point behind the three leaders.

At the wrong end of the Second Division, Wingate made their first win of the season when they beat the visiting Stanley Central in an unusual decider. Jim Dufton and Frank Foster won for the visitors with Jim Alcock and Jim Marley levelling. In the decider Wingate's Dave Hammond was 43 behind on the final red but by persistently laying snookers he potted all the colours to beat Mike Vicary by ten points.

Old Shildon opened out a five points lead at the top of the First Division after they whitewashed the visiting Newton Aycliffe with wins from Billy Goggins, Steve Bennett, Michael Pratt, Charlie Blake and Jossie Aldworth.

Spennymoor A jumped up into second place when they whitewashed the visiting Ferryhill with wins from Karl Welsh, John Wilson, Dennis Dodd, Paul Biddle and Ronnie Bateman.

Shotton Palms held on to third spot with an odd point home success over Willington. John Armstrong, Dave Swindle and Paul Hickman won for Shotton with Jeremy Martin and Gordon Parkin replying.

Cockton Hill share third spot with Shotton after they beat the visiting Brandon by the odd point. Kevin Mordica, George Chapman and Andrew Aisbitt with a 38 break won for the home side with Kevin Sample and Graham Jackson replying.

Fishburn A were taken to the decider before winning at Witton Gilbert. Charlie Hirst and Brian Quest put the visitors ahead but Mark Appleby and Ian Renwick with a 54 break squared the match. In the decider, Fishburn's John Griffin beat John Rooney junior.

West Auckland jumped to the top of the Third Division when they only dropped one point on their visit to Fishburn B. West were inspired when Paul Vickers knocked in a 44 clearance in the first frame to post the best break in the Division to date. He was followed with wins from David Geraty, Andrew Sugden and Andrew Dent, whilst the only home winner was Dave Wilson.

Bearpark slipped up when they went down by the odd point at Sacriston. The home side took the first three points through Alan Richardson, Mark Brown and Jeff Evans, with the visitors replying with wins from Alex Donaldson and Alan Smith.

Hunwick B moved into third place in the Third Division when they only dropped one point at Leeholme A, who had Ian North as their only winner. Barry Fleming, Trevor Cook, Tom Ward and Trevor Lomax won for Hunwick.

Durham City managed an odd point win at Tow Law with wins from Michael Pratt, John Davies and Gary Ward, whilst Doug Watson and Charlie Donaghy replied for the Lawyers.

In the bottom of the table battle Leeholme B failed to take a point on their visit to Crook Belle Vue, who had wins from John Warriner, Arnold Fleming, Eric Lockerbie, Derek Potts and Ken Rider.

Results: Shotton Palms 3 Willington 2; Crowtrees 5 Sherburn Village 0; Langley Park 1 Spennymoor B 4; Meadowfield 3 Newhouse 2; Belmont 3 Wheatley Hill B 2; Wingate 3 Stanley Central 2; Old Shildon 5 Newton Aycliffe 0; Spennymoor A 5 Ferryhill 0; Cockton Hill 3 Brandon 2; Witton Gilbert 2 Fishburn A 3; Fishburn B 1 West Auckland 4; Sacriston 3 Bearpark 2; Leeholme A 1 Hunwick B 4; Tow Law 2 Durham City 3; Crook Belle Vue 5 Leeholme B 0.

Sacriston 3 Crook Belle Vue 2; Spennymoor B 3 Meadowfield 2; Ferryhill 2 Old Shildon 3; Leeholme B 1 Fishburn B 4; Wheatley Hill B 5 Wingate 0; Brandon 2 Wheatley Hill A 3; West Auckland 4 Tow Law 1; Sherburn Village 5 Belmont 0; Newton Aycliffe 1 Cockton Hill 4; Coundon 5 Leeholme A 0; Hunwick A 3 Crowtrees 2; Fishburn A 3 Willington 2; Bearpark 5 Hunwick B 0; Stanley Central 2 Langley Park 3; Witton Gilbert 3 Spennymoor A 2.

Crook League

Crook Coach and Horses A hoped to move up the table to challenge the leaders but they found the visiting Crook Queen's Head A just too strong. The Coach had singles wins from Phil Tobin and Ray Holiday and then the same players took the doubles point. However the Queen's Head went to victory with wins from Doug Smailes, Peter Genner, John Howarth and Phil Hall.

Crook Olde Horse Shoe A lead the First Division by 11 points with Crook Travelllers Rest B four points ahead of Crook Belle Vue. The Spitfire Club lead the Second Division by seven points with Crook White Swan and Crook Jelly's Bar sharing second spot, two points ahead of Willington Market and Crook Golden Fleece.

Results: Crook Surtees 6 Crook Coach and Horses B 1; Crook White Swan 3 Crook Spitfire Club 4; Crook Jelly's Bar 4 Crook Golden Fleece 3; Crook Mill House 3 Crook Travellers Rest B 4; Crook Coach and Horses A 4 Crook Queen's Head A 3; Crook Travellers Rest A 5 Crook Royal Sun 2; Crook Olde Horse Shoe A 6 Crook Olde Horse Shoe B 1. Willington Market v Crook Crown postponed.

CIU Durham Branch Championship

First round draw: B. Shaw (Chilton & Windlestone) v K. Keers (Langley Park); P. Atkinson (Hunwick) v S. Mallaburn (Sherburn Village); B. Quest (Fishburn) v W. Oliver (Fishburn); P. Maroney (Cockfield) v P. Nord (Langley Park); W. Robson (Murton Victoria) v M. Bower (Sherburn Village); A. Twist (Sherburn Village) v M. Pratt (Chilton & Windlestone); J. Bower (Sherburn Village) v C. Harrison (Corporation Welfare); P. Biddle (Spennymoor) v C. Turner (Grange Villa). Results to be into the Branch Office by December 1.

Darlington Monday

Night League

Results: Railway Athletic 1, Railway Institute 3; D'ton Cricket Club 3, Northgate Club 1; Harrowgate Hill B 2, D'ton Snooker Club A 2; Hopetown Club 3, Harrowgate Hill A 1; D'ton Snooker Club B 2, JUC 2