Durham and District League - In the top of the table clash of the only two unbeaten teams, Durham Snooker Club entertained Bowburn Oak Tree B and edged through to an odd point victory.

The home side went two up through Paul Brockway and an eight ball clearance from Michael Rhodes. Brian Hann pulled one back for the Tree only to see David Jones and David Harrison extend the home lead.

Colin Barron and Sonny Hann took points for the visitors before Michael Rhodes completed his second clearance. The Oak Tree showed their fighting qualities when Colin Barron and Neil Hunter levelled the match. The Snooker Club ensured their victory with wins from David Harrison and Gary Carr but the Tree made the scoreline tight when Colin Barron beat Darren Grainger in the captain's game.

Results: Gilesgate Three Horse Shoes 10 Esh McKennas 3; Gilesgate DLI 9 Bowburn Cooperage 3; Bowburn Oak Tree A 8 Durham Woodman 5; Framwellgate Marquis of Granby 11 Ushaw Moor Flass Inn 2; Durham Snooker Club 7 Bowburn Oak Tree 6; Broom Park Loves 3 Meadowfield WM Club 10; Chester-le-Street Garden Farm 3 Sacriston Daisy Hill 10. Coxhoe WM Club v Ushaw Moor Catholic Club no result.

P W L Pts

Snooker Club 6 6 0 60

Oak Tree B 7 6 1 56

Oak Tree A 7 5 2 51

Three Horse Shoes 7 4 3 50

Meadowfield WMC 7 4 3 48

Marquis of Granby 6 4 2 45

DLI 7 2 5 42

Garden Farm 5 3 2 38

Flass Inn 7 2 5 36

Daisy Hill 5 3 2 33

Coxhoe WMC 4 3 1 33

Woodman 6 3 3 33

The Loves 6 2 4 33

Cooperage 6 1 5 26

McKennas 7 0 7 25

Catholic Club 3 0 3 15

Bishop Auckland League

The large entry to the League Doubles Championship was cut down to four when the qualifying stages were held at four venues. In the decider at St. Helens Wheatsheaf Paul Willey and Michael Hoggart of Bishop Auckland Derby beat Kevin Watson and John Searle of Bishop Auckland King's Head.

The decider at Bishop Auckland Cumberland Arms saw Chris Peacock and Stephen Lowther of Bishop Auckland Derby beat Martin Short and Shane Casen of Spennymoor Weardale.

The qualifiers from Henknowle Manor House were Gavin Witton and Steve Hunter of Crook Olde Horse Shoe after they beat Kevin Stewart and Steve Balanaves of Bishop Auckland Derby in the decider.

Tony Lambert and Danny Parker of Bishop Auckland Football Club qualified from their own premises when they beat Andrew Tuesday and David Jacomb of Bishop Auckland King's Head.

The four pairs will play to a finish, along with the last eight in the singles at Bishop Auckland Derby on Thursday, 29 November.

Tow Law League

leaders, Tow Law Station went down to their fourth defeat of the season when they visited Tow Law Football Club and lost in the deciding doubles. The singles were shared with the footballers having points from Kevin McCormick, Les Hind and Brian Swatten, whilst Shaun Umpelby, Tommy Sloan and Andrew Burrows levelled. After the first two doubles were shared the footballers went to victory when Les Hind and Paul Carroll beat Philip Slater and Andrew Burrows.

Tow Law Black Horse A's hopes of getting among the trophies died when they were taken to the decider before beating the visiting Sunniside Comedian. The Horse had singles wins from Tony Brown, Howard Spoors, David Craggs and Anthony Hird whilst Keith Race and Dave Ferguson won for the visitors. The Comedian took the first two doubles to square the match but the Horse went to victory when David Craggs and Anthony Hird beat Paul Moore and Dave Thompson.

Results: Tow Law Cattle Mart 4 Tow Law Rose and Crown 5; Tow Law New Market A 4 Tow Law Black Horse B 5; Tow Law Football Club 5 Tow Law Station 4; Tow Law Black Horse A 5 Sunniside Comedian 4; Esh Winning Football Club 4 Lanchester King's Head 5.

CIU Pairs Championship

Semi-final results: T. Briggs & A. Wright (Southwick Social) lost to G. Manning & C. Cornell (Quarrington Hill); S. Burnside & R. McAloon (Ferryhill) beat G. Gray junior & s. R. Hall (Grange Villa). The Final will be played at Pelton R.A.O.B. Club, Chester-le-Street on Wednesday, December 12