Durham Ladies' Selina Sinclair, 19, currently a student at Birmingham University, was awarded the Smith Cup for outstanding achievements with the Durham and Cleveland County Women's Team for 2002/3.

The annual presentation ceremony of the County SRA held at Norton SC last week also saw Gareth Lumsdon, of the Norton Club at present, receive the Peart Trophy for his performance in men's county tennis.

Norton was selected as Club of the Year, and Chester le Street as Small Club of the Year, for the second year in succession.

Nunthorpe had junior Richard Collins honoured as Men's Player of the Year, and Jane Wilkenson as Ladies' Player of the Year.

The other major award, the Endeavour Trophy went to Judith Shaw of Chester-le-Street.

Lumsdon, from Durham, had been the best performer for the senior men during the season in Division One of the Inter County Championship, and had produced one outstanding result, in beating international Bryan Beeson in the fixture against Northumbria.

Miss Sinclair made her county senior debut this season, and was undefeated in five matches, and moved through the ranks from fifth string in the team to finally third.

Young Collins had an incredibly set of results: nine wins out of nine for Nunthorpe fifths in division six, and five out of five for the fourths in division 4B. He had also time to turn out for the second and first teams in division two and one, with a 50 per cent performance rate.

Ms Wilkenson was undefeated in 12 matches for Nunthorpe in the Ladies' second division, the team finishing third, and was also nominated as player of the division.

Mrs Shaw has been well involved with the county squash for some 20 years. She has been handbook editor since 1992, and previously produced newsletters, was fixture secretary, and before that the senior ladies' team manager.

Awards: Club of the Year: Norton; Small club of the Year: Chester-le-Street; Endeavour Trophy: Mrs Judith Shaw (Chester-le-Street); Peart Trophy: Gareth Lumsdon (Norton); Smith Cup: Selina Sinclair (Durham); Men's Player of the Year: Richard Collins (Nunthorpe); Women's Player of the Year: Jane Wilkenson (Nunthorpe); Division One Player: Andy Cross (Norton); Division Two Player: Norman Turnbull (Norton); Division Three Player: Dave Thomas (Yarm); Division 4A Player: Barry Carson (Yarm); Division 4B Player: Brian Cunningham (Aykley Heads); Division 5A Player: Ernie Matthews (Chester-le-Street); Division 5B Player: Geoff Watson (Darlington); Division Six Player: Ben Harrison (Nunthorpe); Ladies Division One Player: Micaela Harris (Darlington); Ladies Division Two Player: Jane Wilkenson (Nunthorpe)