Labour have won in the new Gateshead Central and Whickham seat.

The party's candidate Mark Ferguson was elected MP with 18,245 votes.

The seat, previously known as Gateshead, was a Labour seat with Ian Mearns having stood down when the election was called.

Continuing the trend of the night so far, Reform UK candidate Damian Heslop won 8,601 votes (21.39%). 

*This is a breaking news story and will be updated shortly.*

Full results for Gateshead Central and Whickham

LD - Ron Beadle: 4,987
GRN - Rachel Cabral: 3,217
LAB - Mark Ferguson: 18,245
TU - Normal Hall: 369
REF - Damian Heslop: 8,601
CON - Nick Oliver: 4,628
SUN - Graham Steele: 170