Liz Twist has been elected as the first MP for Blaydon and Consett.

The Labour candidate and former Blaydon MP won the new seat which combines part of the old Blaydon and North West Durham constituencies, with a total number of 21,160 votes.

Speaking after the result was called, Ms Twist said she was "absolutely delighted" with the strong majority, and promised to bring change to the brand new constituency. 

She added: "It's time for change - time for change in Blaydon & Consett, and time for change nationally. 

"All of us want to see change; see an NHS that works, see long waiting lists tackled; better access to dentistry services; that new hospital we've been promised become a reality. 

"We don't yet know the final tally - but it is clear that many people across the region and across the country have placed their trust in the Labour Party". 

*This is a breaking news story and will continue to be updated*

Full results for Blaydon and Consett

LAB - Liz Twist: 21,160
REF - David Ayre: 10,007
CON - Angela Sterling: 6,052
LD - Vicky Anderson: 2,273
GRN - Richard Simpson: 1,589
SDP - Paul Topping: 135

42,336 votes were cast in total in Blaydon and Consett, for a turn-out of 60.06 per cent.