Changes to constituency boundaries in County Durham mean the names and maps of local areas have changed ahead of the general election on July 4. 

Some seats, including North West Durham, are being abolished entirely while other constituencies have been significantly redrawn.

It will reduce the overall number of seats in the North East by two.

We take a look at what it means for County Durham. 

Bishop Auckland

Boundary changes will see the constituency extend further north than it currently does, taking in the Crook, Tow Law, and Weardale wards part of North West Durham, a seat which is being abolished.

Dehenna Davison, who previously held the seat as its first Conservative MP, will not stand for reelection. The Tory was one of the 2019 intake who won ‘red wall’ seats from Labour at the 2019 general election.

Wards: Barnard Castle East, Barnard Castle West, Bishop Auckland Town, Coundon, Crook, Evenwood, Shildon and Dene Valley, Tow Law, Weardale, West Auckland, Woodhouse Close.


Reform UK - Rhys Burris

Green - Sarah Hannan

Conservative - Jane MacBean

Transform - Rachel Maughan

Labour - Sam Rushworth

Liberal Democrats - Helen Cross

Blaydon and Consett

This new constituency combines wards from the existing Blaydon and North West Durham constituencies, crossing the boundaries of Gateshead and County Durham.

Labour’s Liz Twist, who represented Blaydon, will contest this new constituency. Conservative Consett councillor Angela Sterling also hopes to become the area’s first MP.

North West Durham, held by Tory Party chairman Richard Holden, is being completely abolished and its wards will be divided among other constituencies.

Wards: Benfieldside, Burnopfield and Dipton, Consett North, Consett South, Delves Lane, Leadgate and Medomsley, Blaydon, Chopwell and Rowlands Gill, Crawcrook and Greenside, Ryton, Crookhill and Stella, Winlaton and High Spen.

Candidates announced so far:

Liberal Democrats - Vicky Anderson

Reform UK - David Ayre

Green - Richard Simpson

Conservative - Angela Sterling

Labour - Liz Twist

SDP - Paul Topping 

City of Durham

Boundary changes to the constituency will see Esh and Witton Gilbert as well as Willington and Hunwick join the City of Durham. Coxhoe will be transferred to the Newton Aycliffe and Spennymoor constituency.

Labour candidate Mary Kelly Foy, elected in 2019, hopes to continue her time in office as the area’s MP.

Wards: Belmont, Brandon, Deerness, Durham South, Elvet and Gilesgate, Esh and Witton Gilbert, Framwellgate and Newton Hall. Neville’s Cross, Sherburn, Willington and Hunwick. 

Candidates announced so far:

Green - Jonathan Elmer

Conservative - Luke Holmes

Labour - Mary Kelly Foy

Liberal Democrats - Mark Wilkes

SDP - Sarah Welbourne

Reform - Mark Belch

How the new County Durham constituency map will look


The constituency is being expanded to take in the community of Wingate and parts of the Trimdon and Thornley ward from Sedgefield.

Labour’s Grahame Morris is standing for re-election. 

Wards: Blackhalls, Dawdon, Deneside, Easington, Horden, Murton, Passfield, Peterlee East, Peterlee West, Seaham, Shotton and South Hetton, Trimdon and Thornley (part), Wingate.

Candidates announced so far:

Green - Stephen Ashfield

Reform UK - Lynn Murphy  

Conservative - Joanne Howey 

Labour - Grahame Morris 

Liberal Democrats - Tony Ferguson

North East Party - Mary Cartwright

Newton Aycliffe and Spennymoor

Under its new name of Newton Aycliffe and Spennymoor, the seat comprises the majority of the current Sedgefield constituency but takes in Spennymoor, Tudhoe, and Coxhoe.

Wards: Aycliffe East, Aycliffe North and Middridge, Aycliffe West, Bishop Middleton and Cornforth, Chilton, Coxhoe, Ferryhill, Sedgefield, Spennymoor, Trimdon and Thornley (part), Tudhoe.

Candidates announced so far:

Transform - Brian Agar

Reform UK - John Grant

Green - Jack Hughes

Workers Party - Minhajul Sohun

Labour - Alan Strickland

Conservative - Paul Howell

Liberal Democrats - Anne-Marie Curry

North Durham

The constituency is expanding with the addition of Lanchester from the North West Durham seat, which will be abolished.

Wards: Annfield Plain, Chester-le-Street East, Chester-le-Street North, Chester-le-Street South, Chester-le-Street West Central, Craghead and South Moor, Lanchester, Lumley, North Lodge, Pelton, Sacriston, Stanley, Tanfield.

Candidates announced so far:

SDP - Tom Chittenden

Reform UK - Andrew Husband

Green - Sunny Moon-Schott

Conservative - George Carter

Liberal Democrats - Craig Martin 

Labour - Luke Akehurst

Workers Party - Chris Bradburn