The full candidate list for the Tees Valley mayoral election has been confirmed by Stockton-on-Tees Borough Council.

Three candidates will contest the election to become Tees Valley Mayor.

Voters will go to the polls on Thursday, May 2.

Here are the three candidates to become Tees Valley mayor:

Ben HOUCHEN (Conservative Party Candidate)

Chris MCEWAN (Labour and Co-operative party)

Simon THORLEY (Liberal Democrats)

Residents who are not on the electoral register who wish to vote in this election must apply to register by Tuesday 16 April.

Registration is simple and only takes a few minutes to complete by visiting the dedicated GOV.UK web page. You'll need to provide your date of birth and National Insurance number.

Those who are registered to vote and would like to vote by post must apply by 5pm on Wednesday, April 17. To apply to vote by post, visit the GOV.UK apply for a postal vote web page.

Those who are registered to vote and would like to vote by proxy must give a reason for the decision to have a proxy vote and apply before 5pm on Wednesday, April 24. To apply, visit the GOV.UK apply to vote by proxy web page.

Don't miss out on the latest news and stories. Subscribe to the Northern Echo for just £2 for 2 months, click here

Most read

Double yellows lines won't be painted at Seaham homes

Five 'unsung' villages you must visit in County Durham

Police investigate serious crash on A1(M) near Darlington

To vote in a polling station you are required to show an accepted form of photographic ID, if you do not have an accepted form of Photographic ID you can apply for a voter authority certificate online at the GOV.UK apply for photo ID webpage by 5pm Wednesday 24 April.

For assistance you can contact your local Electoral Services team and if you live in the Stockton-on-Tees Borough, call the Voter Registration Helpline on 01642 526196.

The helpline for Darlington residents is 01325 406444, Hartlepool residents is 01429 523017, Middlesbrough residents is 01642 729771 and Redcar and Cleveland residents is 01642 774774. For more information, visit the elections and voting webpage.