Final proposals to cut 28 councillors in County Durham have been submitted to the government. 

The Local Government Boundary Commission says Durham County Council should consist of 98 councillors serving 51 divisions, as it redraws the boundaries across the region. 

The current make-up of the region consists of 126 councillors across 63 divisions. 

A report from the independent body said the boundaries of most divisions should change. Of the proposed 51 areas, nine would be three-councillor divisions, 29 two-councillor divisions and 13 one-councillor divisions.

It comes after the commission received 371 responses from residents and organisations to help decide the new divisions, including cross-party feedback from the Joint Administration and Labour. 

Among the most significant changes are a new layout in the Consett area and a revised pattern of divisions for the Teesdale and West Auckland areas. 

Initial proposals revealed in May detailed plans to redraw the boundaries in  Bishop Auckland and Barnard Castle. The commission also planned to reduce the number of divisions to 48 before it was revised to 51. 

The commission said the revised boundaries will ensure councillors represent the same number of electors and will help the council work effectively.

Publishing the recommendations Professor Colin Mellors, chairman of the commission, said: “We are very grateful to people in County Durham. We looked at all the views they gave us. They helped us improve our earlier proposals.

“We believe the new arrangements will deliver electoral fairness while maintaining local ties.”

Recommended reading: 

Grab our digital subscription for just £6 for 6 months. Limited time only!

The changes are due to become law once Parliament has approved them, and council officers will ensure that the arrangements are in place for the 2025 local elections.

Michael Turnbull, Durham County Council’s democratic services manager, said: “We will review the final recommendations from the Local Government Boundary Commission for England and, provided they are approved by Parliament, will ensure that they are implemented in time for the local elections in 2025.”

Parliamentary constituencies in County Durham are also due to change. A new Blaydon and Consett constituency is set to replace North West Durham, while Newton Aycliffe and Spennymoor could replace Sedgefield. 

Click here to view the full details of the proposals.