MEMBERS of Parliament representing the North-East voted on the stricter covid tier system last night, passing the rules despite the threat of Tory rebellion. But how did you MP vote? 

The North-East was plunged into the most stringent Covid restrictions today, December 2, while North Yorkshire faces Tier 2, after the tougher tier system was passed in Parliament yesterday.

Some 53 conservatives, including Stockton South MP Matt Vickers, voted against the Prime Minister's tier system, while 16 did not vote. 

Mr Vickers wrote to Boris Johnson on November 30, ahead of the vote, asking him to "ensure Stockton's bars, pubs, breweries and restaurants are not forced to call last orders for the final time". 

He said his inbox is "filled with emails from concerned constituents" and expressed concern over the new tier system which "unfairly punishes" the hospitality sector.

Under Tier 3, which the North-East finds itself in, pubs, cafes and restaurants are allowed to open for only takeaway, click-and-collect, drive-through or delivery services.

Labour said it would abstain from the vote, but 15 MPs ignored party orders and voted no - seven of which are North-East representatives. 

Sir Keir Starmer – who has previously backed Government measures – said while his party had “serious misgivings” it would not be in the national interest to vote them down when the virus still posed a “serious risk”.

No Labour MPs voted for the restrictions.

MPs who voted in favour of the tier system, which placed the North-East in Tier 3

Anne-Marie Trevelyan, Conservative, Berwick-upon-Tweed - Aye

Dehenna Davison, Conservative, Bishop Auckland - Aye

Ian Levy, Conservative, Blyth Valley - Aye

Peter Gibson, Conservative, Darlington - Aye

Guy Opperman, Conservative, Hexham - Aye

Simon Clarke, Conservative, Middlesbrough South and East Cleveland - Aye

Richard Holden, Conservative, North West Durham - Aye

Jacob Young, Conservative, Redcar - Aye

Paul Howell, Conservative, Sedgefield - Aye

MPs who voted against the tier system 

Mary Kelly Foy, Labour, City of Durham - No

Grahame Morris, Labour, Easington - No

Ian Mearns, Labour, Gateshead - No

Mike Hill, Labour, Hartlepool - No

Kate Osborne, Labour, Jarrow - No

Kevan Jones, Labour, North Durham - No

Emma Lewell-Buck, Labour, South Shields - No

Matt Vickers, Conservative, Stockton South - No

MPs who abstained from the vote

Liz Twist, Labour, Blaydon - No Vote Recorded

Bridget Phillipson, Labour, Houghton and Sunderland South - No Vote Recorded

Andy McDonald, Labour, Middlesbrough - No Vote Recorded

Chi Onwurah, Labour, Newcastle upon Tyne Central - No Vote Recorded

Nicholas Brown, Labour, Newcastle upon Tyne East - No Vote Recorded

Catherine McKinnell, Labour, Newcastle upon Tyne North - No Vote Recorded

Mary Glindon, Labour, North Tyneside - No Vote Recorded

Alex Cunningham, Labour, Stockton North - No Vote Recorded

Julie Elliott, Labour, Sunderland Central -No Vote Recorded

Alan Campbell, Labour, Tynemouth - No Vote Recorded

Ian Lavery, Labour, Wansbeck - No Vote Recorded

Sharon Hodgson, Labour, Washington and Sunderland West - No Vote Recorded