THE Durham Miners’ Association has clarified its position after reportedly telling five MPs they would not be invited to the Durham Miners Gala.

The move was widely interpreted as a ban for Labour MPs Phil Wilson (Sedgefield), Paul Williams (Stockton South), Anna Turley (Redcar), Catherine McKinnell (Newcastle-Upon-Tyne North) and Bridget Phillipson (Houghton and Sunderland South).

The quintet recently called for a ‘people’s vote’ on the outcome of the Brexit negotiations in a move seen by some as an attempt to undermine Labour leader Jeremy Corbyn and party policy, which is to respect the result of the EU referendum.

Durham Miners Association general secretary Alan Cummings was asked by the Morning Star if the MPs concerned would be formally welcomed and replied: “We can’t stop Wilson or any MP attending, but they will not be invited.”

The Association later tweeted they had not been banned, but said only MPs who supported the Labour leadership would be considered to stand on the platform at the gala.

Mr Wilson, who did not receive an invite last year, said he would again be walking through Durham city with a banner.

The MP said: “This is part of my heritage. My dad was a miner for the best part of 40 years and I do it in his memory.”

:: Student leaders from Durham, Northumbria and Teesside are among 122 elected student leader from 60 students’ unions who have signed an open letter calling for a people’s vote on the final Brexit deal

The letter has been co-ordinated by youth-led campaign group For our Future’s Sake.

Megan Croll, President of University of Durham Students’ Union, said: “The North-East is one the regions with the most to lose out of Brexit and young people in particular have legitimate concerns about their future prospects.

“I’m so proud to be backing this campaign for a people’s vote because the young people I represent deserve a say on the final terms of the deal – the world is a very different place to 2016 and we deserve a chance to say what we want our futures to look like.”