Club of the Year success for junior football club in Darlington

WINNING TEAM: The Mayor of Darlington, Councillor Gerald Lee and his Mayoress, Ruth Lee, present he Club of the Year trophy to Darlington TSC

CUP SUCCESS: The Mayor of Darlington, Councillor Gerald Lee, looks on as Darlington TSC members celebrate winning the Club of the Year trophy

First published in News

A DARLINGTON club has beaten off competition from across the region to be crowned Teesside Junior Football Alliance’s Club of the Year 2014.

Darlington TSC junior football club broke all previous records to regain the title for an unprecedented third time after fighting off competition from 84 clubs throughout the Tees Valley and North Yorkshire.

The hat-trick of wins have all been achieved in the past six years.

The Mayor of Darlington, Councillor Gerald Lee and his Mayoress, Ruth Lee, presented the Club of the Year trophy to club secretary, Iain Lester, and the children of TSC at an annual awards ceremony.

Cllr Lee said: “It was a privilege to be able to present this outstanding award to Darlington TSC, particularly in a year where we are celebrating all that is positive about the young people of Darlington.

“This success has come through hard work, dedication and team spirit, something I hope that the children will take with them throughout their lives.

“I thank TSC for bringing this award back to Darlington and showcasing exactly what our young people are capable of achieving.”

Darlington TSC prides itself on being a community club, with many of the children remaining with the club for their entire junior football experience.

TSC was founded by Mr Lester in 1998 and runs in the West End of Darlington for children aged four to 16.


Comments are closed on this article.

Send us your news, pictures and videos

Most read stories

Local Info

Enter your postcode, town or place name

About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree