Ribchester was named Yorkshire Horse of the Year at the 2017 Go Racing in Yorkshire Annual Awards Lunch.
The award, judged by a panel of racing journalists and aficionados, is presented to the connections of the horse which has made an outstanding contribution to the sport of racing in the county.
Ribchester, trained by Richard Fahey, owned by Godolphin and ridden in all but one of his races by William Buick, enjoyed Group One wins in the Lockinge Stakes, the Queen Anne Stakes and the Prix Du Moulin.
A clutch of awards were handed out at the annual event, held at York Racecourse. 
The Sky Bet Trophies for the leading trainer and jockey on the Yorkshire racecourses during the 2017 Flat season went to Richard Fahey and Danny Tudhope, with 75 and 63 winners respectively on the county’s tracks this year. 
Fahey had winners at all nine of the courses in the county and finished leading trainer at Beverley, Catterick, Thirsk and Wetherby as well as being joint leader with David O’Meara at Pontefract. 
Richard Hannon at Doncaster, David O’Meara at Redcar and Tim Easterby at both Ripon and York were the other trainers to lead the way. 
Leading flat jockey in 2017 is normally the tightest competition of all. Some 150 jockeys had winners in the county this year and there was a four-way tie at York and a three-way tie at Wetherby. Paul Hannagan led the way at Beverley, Jason Hart at Catterick, Ryan Moore at Doncaster and Paul Mulrennan at Ripon, but the winner at Pontefract and Redcar was Tudhope a double that gave him the edge.
The Sky Bet Trophies presented to the top trainer and jockey on the trio of Yorkshire racecourses which staged Jump racing during the 2016/17 campaign was won by trainer Dan Skelton and jockey Brian Hughes. Sue Smith was top trainer at Catterick, Nicky Henderson led the way at Doncaster and Dan Skelton headed the Wetherby list, while Brian Ellison was prominent in all three lists. 
For the National Hunt jockey of the year the competition could hardly have been tighter. At Catterick, last year’s winner Danny Cook and Brian Hughes were joint leaders, while at Doncaster it was Aidan Coleman who led the way and at Wetherby Harry Skelton took top honours.
Danny Cook and Brian Hughes were tied on 17 winners, so for the second year in a row it went to countback to determine the award winner
Callum Rodeiguez  was named Yorkshire’s future star. 
Attached to Michael Dods yard, he rode in only four rounds of the competition, but won three of those races to pip Connor Murtagh. 
And there was a special award for Middleham Maestro Mark Johnston, honoured with an outstanding achievement award.
He saddled his 4,000th winner in Britain when Dominating won at Pontefract in October. He began training in 1987 when he had just one winner that season, but just seven years later, in 1994, he had his first century of winners. 
Since then he has had at least 100 winners every year and seven times, including this season, has had a double century.