DURHAM will start the 2022 season with a trip to Sofia Gardens to take on Glamorgan after the fixtures for the new county campaign were released yesterday.

The new LV=Insurance County Championship season will begin on April 7, with spectators due to return to Chester-le-Street for Durham’s opening home fixture against Leicestershire on Thursday, April 14.

Nottinghamshire will visit Riverside as Durham stage back-to-back home games, with the opening seven rounds of the County Championship due to be played from Thursday to Sunday on successive weeks. There will also be five rounds played during June and July – an increase from the three rounds during the same period last summer.

Durham will kick off their T20 Vitality Blast campaign on the road with away fixtures at Leicestershire Foxes (May 26) and Northamptonshire Steelbacks (May 27).

Worcestershire Rapids will be Durham’s first T20 opponents on home soil on Wednesday, June 1, and Durham will play five home games on the bounce from June 5- 19. There will be three Friday night matches under the lights, including the derby game with Yorkshire Vikings on June 17.

Having just missed out on Royal London Cup glory in 2022, Durham will be looking to go one better when their List A season gets under way with a home game against Surrey on Thursday, August 4.

The Royal London Cup final will return to a Saturday, with Trent Bridge to host the decider on September 17.

Durham will conclude their home County Championship campaign on Tuesday, September 20, hosting Sussex, before taking on Nottinghamshire at Trent Bridge on Monday, September 26 in their final round of red-ball cricket.

Durham 2022 fixtures:

County Championship: Apr 7 Glamorgan (a), Apr 14 Leicestershire (h), Apr 21 Notts (h), Apr 28 Sussex (a), May 5 Worcestershire (a), May 12 Glamorgan (h), May 19 Middlesex (a), Jun 12 Worcestershire (h), Jul 11 Derbyshire (h), Jul 25 Middlesex (h), Sep 5 Derbyshire (a), Sep 12 Leicestershire (a), Sep 20 Sussex (h), Sep 26 Notts (a)

T20 Blast: May 26 Leicestershire (a), May 27 Northants (a), May 29 Birmingham Bears (a), June 1 Worcestershire (h), Jun 3 Yorkshire (a), Jun 5 Northants (h), Jun 8 Birmingham Bears (h), Jun 10 Lancashire (h), Jun 17 Yorkshire (h), Jun 19 Leicestershire (h), Jun 23 Lancashire (a), Jun 24 Notts (h), Jul 1 Notts (a), Jul 3 Derbyshire (a)

Royal London Cup: Aug 4 Surrey (h), Aug 7 Middlesex (h), Aug 10 Somerset (a), Aug 12 Gloucestershire (h), Aug 14 Notts (a), Aug 17 Sussex (h), Aug 21 Warwickshire (a), Aug 23 Leicestershire (a)