JACK COLBACK and Rolando Aarons are the high-profile absentees from the Newcastle United squad list that has been submitted to the Premier League.

With the transfer window now closed, Steve Bruce had to submit a squad of 25 players that he will use this season.

The Magpies boss always knew he would have to leave some of his players out of the group, and Colback and Aarons are the two biggest names to have failed to have made the cut.

Both players were linked with loan moves away from St James' Park yesterday, but neither secured a transfer before the window closed.

Henri Saivet, Achraf Lazaar and Jamie Sterry have also been left out of Newcastle's Premier League squad.

The five fringe players cannot join another team in the Premier League or Championship, but they could still leave Tyneside before the end of the month.

Clubs in Leagues One and Two can still sign players, and the transfer window remains open in Scotland and a number of European leagues.

Newcastle United squad list:

1 Martin Dubravka

2 Ciaran Clark (homegrown)

3 Paul Dummett (homegrown)

4 Ki Sung-yueng

5 Fabian Schar

6 Jamaal Lascelles (homegrown)

7 Andy Carroll (homegrown)

8 Jonjo Shelvey (homegrown)

9 Joelinton

10 Allan Saint-Maximin

11 Matt Ritchie (homegrown)

12 Dwight Gayle (homegrown)

13 Yoshinori Muto

14 Isaac Hayden (homegrown)

15 Jetro Willems

17 Emil Krafth

18 Federico Fernandez

19 Javier Manquillo

20 Florian Lejeune

21 Rob Elliot (homegrown)

22 DeAndre Yedlin

24 Miguel Almiron

26 Karl Darlow (homegrown) 

30 Christian Atsu

36 Sean Longstaff (homegrown)

43 Matty Longstaff