MIDDLESBROUGH and Sunderland have learned who they will face in the first round of the Carabao Cup next season.

Boro’s first league cup game under Jonathan Woodgate will see them face Crewe at the Riverside Stadium.

The League Two side finished mid-table last season under the guidance of David Artell. It will be the first time the two have met in the League Cup since Boro won 3-1 at Ayresome Park in October 1961.

Middlesbrough, who won it in 2004, have actually only faced Crewe four times and the first of those was in 1888 when the latter recorded their only win over the Teessiders, which was a 2-0 victory in the FA Cup.

Sunderland face another trip to Accrington, knowing they will also come up against each other again in League One next season.

The Black Cats, who lost in the final of the competition in 2014 to Manchester City, will head for the Wham Stadium in the week commencing August 12. Jack Ross’ side took four points off Accrington last season.

Former winners Ray Parlour and John Barnes made the draw for the first round draw at a Morrison's supermarket in north London.

The pair posed for pictures with shoppers alongside the trophy and Barnes, who won the competition with Liverpool in 1995, also interacted with customers over the store's public address system.

Past draws have taken place in far-flung destinations such as Bangkok and Ho Chi Minh City. League Two new-boys Salford entered the competition for the first time and were given an intriguing home date against Leeds United.

They are in the northern section, splitting teams geographically and the southern section included Leyton Orient, promoted back into the Football League alongside Salford. AFC Wimbledon will face MK Dons in another attractive tie.

The top-flight clubs not involved in Europe will be introduced in the next round.


Tranmere Rovers v Hull City

Grimsby Town v Doncaster Rovers

Wigan Athletic v Stoke City

Port Vale v Burton Albion

Nottingham Forest v Fleetwood Town

Bradford City v Preston North End

Blackpool v Macclesfield Town

Blackburn Rovers v Oldham Athletic

Mansfield Town v Morecambe

Accrington Stanley v Sunderland

Scunthorpe United v Derby County

Rochdale v Bolton Wanderers

Huddersfield Town v Lincoln City

Middlesbrough v Crewe Alexandra

Shrewsbury Town v Rotherham United

Sheffield Wednesday v Bury

Salford City v Leeds United

Barnsley v Carlisle United


Colchester United v Swindon Town

AFC Wimbledon v Milton Keynes Dons

Oxford United v Peterborough United

QPR v Bristol City

Plymouth Argyle v Leyton Orient

Wycombe Wanderers v Reading

Charlton Athletic v Forest Green Rovers

Gillingham v Newport County

Stevenage v Southend United

Luton Town v Ipswich Town

Walsall v Crawley Town

Bristol Rovers v Cheltenham Town

Brentford v Cambridge United

Coventry City v Exeter City

Swansea City v Northampton Town

West Bromwich Albion v Millwall

Portsmouth v Birmingham City

Ties to played week commencing August 12