JACK ROSS has made eight changes for Sunderland's Checkatrade Trophy last-32 tie with Notts County at the Stadium of Light.

Bryan Oviedo, Max Power and Luke O'Nien are the only players to retain their places from the side that started last weekend's FA Cup draw at Walsall.

Robbin Ruiter replaces Jon McLaughlin in goal, with Jack Bainbridge, Glenn Loovens and Alim Ozturk coming into the back four.

Dylan McGeouch and Bali Mumba are recalled in midfield, with Jerome Sinclair starting as Sunderland's central striker.

The most notable change comes on the left flank, however, with Duncan Watmore making his first start for more than a year after completing his recovery from a second bout of cruciate ligament surgery.

SUNDERLAND (4-2-3-1): Ruiter; Bainbridge, Loovens, Ozturk, Oviedo; Mumba, McGeouch; Power, O'Nien, Watmore; Sinclair.

Subs: Patterson (gk), Hackett, Diamond, Flanagan, Hunter, Kimpioka, Maja.

NOTTS COUNTY (4-5-1): Fitzsimons; Hawkridge, Duffy, Brisley, Jones; Patching, Hewitt, Vaughan, Milsom, Thomas; Dennis.

Subs: Pindroch (gk), Kellett, Husin, Ward, Evina, Stead, Campbell.