The wet weather ensured the relegation of Bishop Auckland, as they ended up bottom of the league and will be playing in Division One next season. They were 58-2 at Seaton Carew, when the rain came and the game abandoned.

Marske had Richmondshire second team to thank, as they survived relegation. Richmondshire seconds held on at home to champions Billingham Synthonia for a draw, meaning that the Dalesmen finished second in Division One, allowing the Seasiders to escape the drop.

Darlington beat them at Windy Hill Lane by four wickets. Peter Greenwell made 45 and Liam Coates 47, to ease their side home on 190-6. Marske made 187-7 declared, thanks to Lee Hodgson who scored 59, while Peter Greenwell claimed an excellent 5-44.

Barnard Castle were worthy champions. They beat Marton in a rain-affected match. In 204-9 off 34 overs, they had Mike Dixon to thank with 48 from 46 balls, which included six fours and two sixes and Hashan Dumindu, who rattled up 86 from 81 balls, with 12 fours. On the bowling front, Muhammed Zahid took 4-28 and Luke Gettings 3-53.

Marton lost early wickets and only Ben Hutchinson with 34 resisted, in just 93. Josh Bousfield took 3-33 and Alastair Appleby claimed 4-23 from nine overs, to hand Barney the championship title.

Last year’s champions Great Ayton were just four points behind in second place. Against Hartlepool they made 195-8 declared, thanks to Chris Batchelor’s 50 and Phillip Holdsworth’s 69, while James Lowe (4-58) and Doug Mulholland (4-50), bowled well.

Pools, fourth bottom, were short in the run chase. Mulholland made a decent 60, but Thomas Leng with 4-51 earned Ayton the 25 points.

Richmondshire came third, after a losing draw at Thornaby. The home side scored 181-6, with Neil Coverdale scoring 80, Jeremy Boyle 39 and Tharindu Rathnayake 46 not out. McKiernan cracked 68 in pursuit of the win, but Lewis Harper kept them in check, returning 3-24 and they ended up on 121-7.

Middlesbrough made a terrible start at home to Stokesley, reduced to 37-5, and all out for 127. Andrew Weighell claimed (4-29) and Richard Chandler (3-40), were the heroes with the ball.

Stokesley soon knocked off the runs, with skipper Andrew Weighell making 60 and Tom Preece 46, to ensure an easy seven wicket win.