Durham County secured Twickenham glory with a 46-12 win over Warwickshire to lift the Bill Beaumont Division Two Championship .

Captain Chris Wearmouth paid tribute to his players after the win: “We are over the moon as a team, it is a great achievement for us and a fantastic occasion.

“To play at Twickenham is the pinnacle of county rugby, and we thank the RFU for that opportunity.

“We had a great squad out and they have all brought into the Championship which has made the win possible.

“Personally, I played here three years ago and we lost so to come here today and right the wrong is something we will never forget.”

Josh Bragman started the scoring to give Durham a 3-0 lead in the 13th minute and followed up with another penalty.

A change from the bench saw Peter Homan making instant impact as he sent Jack McPhillips over, but with the try disallowed the Durham side set up again in the 22 with a carry from Callum Whitehead. Conner Foley set the back line away with Dixon out wide to make the last carry over the line for a converted try by Bragman to make it 13-0 at the break.

A driving maul then saw Dixon cross over for a converted try by Bragman.

As momentum continued to build, Durham attacked with Hopley, McPhillips and Luke Wilson expanding out wide, then switching wings with Moloney crossing over to put them 27-0 up.

Warwickshire responded with two tries – one converted – to make it 27-12 as Appleby took to the sin bin.

The dominating Durham side secured a further two converted tries through Moloney and Stanwix before the scoring was complete when Taliete Vaioleti went over.

Durham: M Connon (Carlisle), M Hopley (Billingham), J McPhillips (Middlesbrough), P Youll (West Hartlepool), S Moloney (Middlesbrough), J Bragman (Darlington Mowden Park), C Foley (Middlesbrough); M Hughes (Barnard Castle), T Larder (Harrogate), R Appleby (Darlington Mowden Park), C Wearmouth (Barnard Castle), T Vaioleti (Darlington Mowden Park), C Whitehead (Hartlepool Rovers), E Tremlett (Middlesbrough), D Dixon (Billingham).

Replacements: K Clarke (Middlesbrough), C Purkiss McEndoo (Harrogate), A Kirton (South Shields Westoe), R Stanwix (Barnard Castle), C Burke (Darlington Mowden Park), P Homan (Middlesbrough), L Wilson (Billingham).

Travelling reserves: T Johnson (Hartlepool), R Foreman (Hartlepool Rovers)