DWIGHT GAYLE will start as a lone striker as Newcastle United entertain Swansea City in the Premier League this afternoon.

Newcastle boss Rafael Benitez has made four changes to the side that started last weekend's FA Cup third-round win over Luton Town, with Swansea boss Carlos Carvalhal making seven switches from his own FA Cup line-up.

Karl Darlow retains his place in goal for Newcastle, with a fit-again Rob Elliot returning to the bench.

DeAndre Yedlin and Paul Dummett will fill the full-back positions, with Mo Diame set to line up alongside Jonjo Shelvey at the base of midfield.

Matt Ritchie and Christian Atsu have been named in the wide positions, with Ayoze Perez set to start behind Gayle in the 'number ten' role.

NEWCASTLE (4-2-3-1): Darlow; Yedlin, Clark, Lascelles, Dummett; Shelvey, Diame; Ritchie, Perez, Atsu; Gayle.

Subs: Elliot (gk), Haidara, Manquillo, Merino, Hayden, Murphy, Joselu.

SWANSEA (4-3-3): Fabianski; van der Hoorn, Bartley, Mawson, Olsson; Ki, Carroll, Clucas; Dyer, Ayew, McBurnie.

Subs: Nordfeldt (gk), Roberts, Fernandez, Mesa, Narsingh, Fer, Bony.