In the recent Melmerby 10k road race a miscalculation by the organisers denied Darlington Harriers the men's team prize.

With Martin Grainger finishing fifth, Nigel Orr eighth, Ben Wilson 19th and Paul Kelly 27th, the prize should have been theirs, but they were put in second position after an error in the results.

The ladies team had no such bad luck and romped home in first place with Bernadette Taylor 33rd, Alison Raw 35th, and Jo-Ann Short 44th. Other Harriers to finish the race were Hon Lee 40th, Ian Barnes 60th and Annette Hubery.

Times: M Grainger 33.17, N Orr 33.59, B Wilson 35.37, P Kelly 36.01, B Taylor 37.29, A Raw 37.37, H Lee 38.19, J-A Short38.40, I Barnes 39.50.

Harry Singh continues on his run into the record books with his 96th marathon at Lake Vyrnwy in Wales which he ran in a time of 3hrs 42 mins 34secs.

Richard Woodward beat his sister Hannah and his father Martin in the Newton Aycliffe Fun Run with a time of 9mins 30secs, Hannah and Martin ran 12mins 50secs.

Six members of the club took part in the Hamsterley Forest Run on June 2 and got some excellent results. Hon Lee was the first Harrier home in ninth position in a time of 39.10 followed by a very pleased Paul Smith who was 12th in 40.10. Dave Weston ran 43.49, Ken Hudson 46.07, Steve Dauber 54.58 and Annette Hubery in 64.03.

The following weekend was the annual Blaydon Race always held on the June 9 and the senior men were in the prize money again finishing second V40 team with excellent performances from Martin Grainger who was 30th in 30.27 and Nigel Orr was 37th with 30.42 followed by Hon Lee 35.12, Paul Smith 35.18 and Ian Barnes who was 1st M65 with a time of 36.58. Philippa Smith and Alison Peacock-Farrell ran 48.04 and Annette Hubery ran 55.51.

On June 16 the men and women of the club showed their dominance of the local road running scene by winning the team prizes at the Aycliffe 10k race.

Martin Grainger was the first Harrier home, again in third place, very closely followed by Nigel Orr in fourth with Paul Kelly 17th and Steve Hutchinson 30th.

The ladies also excelled led by the NYSD cross-country champion for 2001, Bernadette Taylor followed by Alison Raw and Sharon Carbett and won their team prize. Another strong performance by the club President and veteran champion Ian Barnes saw him also winning his M65 age group. Brian Hannah, Ken Hudson, Brian Hay, Emma Morley and Steve Dauber also completed the course.

Times: Martin Grainger 34.11, Nigel Orr 34.19, Paul Kelly 36.54, Bernadette Taylor 37.17, Alison Raw 38.03, Steve Hutchinson 38.24, Paul Smith 40.52, Ian Barnes 41.37, Brian Hannah 42.58, Sharon Carbett 43.30, Ken Hudson 46.05, Brian Hay 46.34, Emma Morley 50.19, Steve Dauber 54.35 pb.