Harrogate Area

The annual general and quarterly meeting of the association took place courtesy of Harrogate Golf Club last week. The meeting commenced with the President, David Taylor in the chair and the previous year's Annual General minutes were confirmed as circulated. The President thanked all members of the Association for their support and reviewed the matches played against other areas and also the major competitions that had been played during his year of office. He congratulated Oakdale on winning the summer league and presented the Winter league Trophy to Craig Harrison, Bedale's Rabbits Captain who had won the trophy at Oakdale Golf Club against Ripon City the previous week.

The secretary/treasurer, Brian Parker, confirmed that all fixtures for 2003 had been agreed and thanked all clubs for granting courtesy for these meetings and matches. The Secretary referred to the Thornton Trophy which this year would be played at Flamborough Golf Club and the Harrogate Area had expressed their concern on the format of the competition and the number of players who would be competing, however the Yorkshire committee did not feel the same concern and the format would remain the came namely a medal competition. As treasurer, Brian Parker, presented the accounts which were approved. He requested an increase to the annual subscription from £15 to £20 for the year 2003 and this also was approved.

The Election of Officers then took plate as follows: President, Peter Wildash (Thirsk & Northallerton) Who then took the chair. Vice President; Robin Elias (Masham) Committee: two from each club. YROA delegates: Two from the Harrogate Area. The President then presented David Taylor with his Past President tie.

Quarterly Meeting of The Yorkshire Rabbits Golf Association (Harrogate area): With the President Peter Wildash, in the chair the minutes of the previous meeting held at Otley Golf Club on September 23, 2002 were confirmed.

The Secretary/Treasurer, Brian Parker, requested clubs to return forms giving details of Rabbits Open Competitions at other clubs in the Harrogate area and other information as soon as possible so that the Handbook could be completed and issued to members.

The draw for the Summer League, in two Sections then took place:

Section A: Pike Kills, Oakdale, Knaresborough, Bedale, Masham, and Ripon.

Section B: Otley, Harrogate, Wetherby, Thirsk & Northallerton, and Aldwark Manor.

Matches to commence on the April 1 and be completed by July 31.

The Final would be played between the winners of the two sections on a neutral course.

The Secretary would forward details to the club representatives.

The Winter League Draw would he made at the April meeting.

Details of future fixtures were then given:

April 14: Quarterly meeting Thirsk & Northallerton Golf Club

June 4: Match V Bradford area West Bowling Golf Club

June 19: Thornton. Trophy Flamborough Golf Club

July 16: Plowright Trophy South Bradford Golf Club

July 21: Quarterly meeting Aldwark Manor Golf Club

September 8: Match v Leeds Area Pike Hills Golf Club

September 22: Quarterly meeting Harrogate Golf Club

November 7: Annual Dinner Thirsk & Northallerton Golf Club

The meeting closed with the President presenting past Presidents' ties to those past presidents who attended meetings.

Harrogate and District Union

Sixth Winter Alliance: With nearly two months since the last alliance, Otley played host for the sixth alliance of the season. With an entry of 62 pairs and the course a little wet in places, but all in all excellent condition for the time of year.

Following a longer than usual break between alliances, the scratch players and partners featured in two of the top four places with Thirsk and Northallerton pairing of Rob Garney (scr) and Simon Gaskell (4) carding an excellent 42 stableford points, but with only three points separating the top six places and again the home players could only manage to take the sixth place.

Results: Winners: Rob Garney (scr) and Simon Gaskell (4) Thirsk and Northallerton, 42 points; runners-up Peter Wildash (20) and John Zelinka (11) Masham 40; 3 John Leggett (14) and Paul Storey (12) Oakdale 40; 4 Steve Tonkinson (scr) and Alan Halsall (14) Otley 40; 5 Steve Walker (9) and Richard Bayliss (13) Pannal 39; 6 David Hall (11) and Graham Sharpe (6) Otley 39.