DURHAM City has a new MP following the election of Labour’s Mary Foy.

With a majority of just over 5,000, the Gateshead councillor, from Birtley, gained 20,531 votes.

In second place was Harvey Morgan, for the Conservatives, who got 15,506 votes while Liberal Democrat Amanda Hopgood was third with 7,935 votes.

After winning the seat, Ms Foy said: “I want to thank the voters and the people of Durham. They have voted for change.

The Northern Echo:

Labour members celebrating Mary Foy's win in Durham

“They have voted for a different society and a better society. They have voted for hope.”

She added: “What the future holds we don’t know. Whatever it is, rest assured I’m going to Westminster to make a fuss, to call out people who get rich on the back of privatisation while children go hungry.

“I’m going to Westminster to speak up for justice and a better way of doing things.”

She replaces Labour's Roberta Blackman-Woods, who announced in the summer she would not be standing for re-election.

Mr Morgan, a former mental health nurse, said: “While this result isn’t the one we wanted in Durham, the national picture seems to be a bit more fruitful for the party and I’m delighted about that.”

Ms Hopgood, who is leader of the Liberal Democrats on Durham County Council, said: “This has been a difficult election but I want to thank the people on this stage for making it friendly in Durham.

“While we haven’t won, I get to go back to the job I love as a county councillor so I haven’t lost.”

Meanwhile the Green party’s Jonathan Elmer, who got 1,635 votes, said: “It’s disappointing this election has been dominated by Brexit.

“I don’t think we have reached a settlement that people need. I think we have reached a settlement that reflects people’s position on Brexit and that’s unfortunate.”

The Brexit party’s Lesley Wright, who got 3,252 votes, said: “We are a young party. From what I’ve heard the national results are looking good for a young party.

“That’s testament to what people thing about politics. It really is a time for change.”

The turnout in Durham was 68.8 per cent, with a total of 49,034 votes cast.

The count was held at Spennymoor leisure centre, where the seats of Sedgefield and Bishop Auckland were also counted.

All three seats had been held by Labour since 1935 but this time around only the City of Durham returned a Labour MP.

Bishop Auckland will now be represented by Conservative Dehenna Davison while Sedgefield's MP is Paul Howell, also for the Conservatives.