GREY skies and showers failed to dampen the enthusiasm of crowds at a traditional agricultural event over the weekend.

The 166th Sedgefield and District Agricultural Show was held at the Robert Brown Showfield at West Park on Saturday.

There was a food hall offering community and regional delicacies and a horticulture marquee where visitors could see prize vegetables, home and farm produce and floral arrangements.

As well as the traditional riding displays and animal judging classes there was also a funfair for families to enjoy.

Show secretary Claire Sedgewick said: “The gate numbers were down on last year which was to be expected due to the weather but it didn’t dampen the spirit of the day. There was something for everyone”

Trophy Winners


Best in Show – Treflor Renee – P Newton

Reserve Best in Show- Montrue Maya – P Mounter

Farm Produce:

Sedgefield Young Farmers Perpetual Challenge Cup – I Appleton

Armstrong Richardson Trophy – E Lawson


Challenge cup: Best crossbred pen of sheep: R Appleton

The Frank Hedley Trophy: Best crossbred lambs: S Kirby

The Silver Salver: Best crossbred shearling: R Appleton

Overall Sheep Tinsley Challenge: M Collin

Champion Pet Lamb : M Collin


The Silver Challenge Cup for Best Heifer: J Sedgewick

The Perpetual Challenge Cup Best Steer: M Bentley

The Ralph Holmes Trophy Best YFC Calf: P James

Overall Commercial Champion Cup: Mudd/ Bentley

Native Champion Trophy: D Newcomb

The Seagrave Trophy: Best Pedigree: J Knaggs

Robert Brown Bowl: Best overall Pair: J Knaggs

George Marley Local Salver: J Sedgewick

The Hallmark Shield: Beef Interbreed : J Knaggs

The Ted Pinkney Trophy: Pedigree Female Champion: J Knaggs

Hays Travel Young Handlers Trophy: M Bentley

Vintage Tractors:

C & B Atkinson – Vintage Tractor prev1950 – R Martin

Alan Goddard Trophy- Best tractor on the day- A Wilkinson

H & J Walton Trophy – Best original tractor – H Craggs

John Merrington Trophy – Best commercial vehicle- I Craggs

Best tradestand: Swanflight

Home & Handicraft:

The Molly Bainbridge Perpetual Memorial Cup- M Elders

The Tom Hopper Perpetual Challenge Trophy- J Cowan

The Patons & Baldwins Shields- J Collins

The Shiela Garnett Prize – S McMillan

The Roland Swinbank Memorial Cup- P Dinsley

The C B Hunter Perpetual Trophy- A Johnson

The Rosie Dove Trophy – T Binns

The Margaret Walker Cup- J Warnett & A Sharp

The Ann & Norman Oliver Perpetual Cup- Not presented

The Doreen Allgood Mermorial Trophy – J Collins

The Ian Spring Shield – C McHale


The John Bell Rose Bowl – C Ridley

The Maurice Nokes Tray – J Nicholson

The Frank Stephenson Memorial Rose Bowl – C Ridley

The Frank Gibson Trophy – Tritshler

The Challenge Cup – Tritshler

The George Hutchinson Trophy- Tritshler

The Tim Brown Trophy- Tritshler

The Sylvia Hurwicz Challenge Cup – K Buist

A Challenge Trophy – K Buist


Supreme Champion- D Thompson, Haighend St George

Reserve Champion- M Surtees, Unique

R S Tate Challenge Cup- D Thompson, Haighend St George

Hunter Pony Breeding Champion- S Sanderson, Colandra Summerstorm

Part Bred Champion- W Moran, Arnie

Cob Champion- J Cameron, Peter Pan

Coloured Cup- J Cameron, Peter Pan

Hart Cup- E L Haywood, Stonegill Painted Lady

Stanley Curry Challenge Cup- M Surtees, Nomination

John Wade Cup- A Dawson, Artless

Captain Ramsden Challenge Cup- W Moran, Arnie

World Breeds Champion- C Watling, IBN Sushi

J W Thompson Trophy- L Thompson, Whitworth Daisy Mae

Manorian Trophy- B Edmundson, Westwick Jim

Maurice Hogg Snr Memorial Trophy- JK & M Metcalfe, Bolam Moonlight

The Brierdene Challenge Trophy – G M Farrow, Waitwith Simona

The Boston Challenge Trophy- Not presented

H Howe Trophy – S Daggett, Llandderfel Prince

Craven Championship Salver – S Wallace, Laithehill Madonna Lily

Dorothy Arthur Challenge Trophy- Baruch Family, Felicity’s Fleur

The Sandbeck Chunky Trophy- Not presented

Walker Hall Associates Cup- C Jackson, Ignite Chickadee

Lethbridge Tankard- C Jackson, Ignite Chickadee

WW Fishburn Classic- Not presented

M&M In Hand Champion Cup – S Wallace, Fontmell Niobi

The Kell Trophy- T Robinson, Hedgethorpe April Morning

M&M Leading Rein & First Ridden- F Adams, Dukeshill Dancing Digger

W Law Trophy- J Browell, Milford Eldorado

Bog Hall Trophy- K Fyfe, Fly out of Blue

Tally-Ho Trophy- S Richardson, Waxwing Little Angel

Fieldmaster Trophy- Ava Dodgson, Cosford Diablo

Veteran Champion- D Smith/ J Latham, Barkway Grenadier

Erica Williams Trophy- F Adams, Dukeshill Dancing Digger

The Wheatley Wilson Cup- H Bunton, Paddy

PG McLaren Cup- R Harrison, Alfie

Sedgefield BDS Perpetual Shield- GAD Burton, Taka Ra Haka of Todridge