A LIST of parties standing in the European Parliamentary Election in the North East electoral region has now been published.

The deadline for nominations closed today (Thursday 25 April) at 4pm.

Polling Day is Thursday, May 23.

The candidates for the North East Electoral Region are:

  • Change UK - The Independent Group: Frances Helena Weetman, Penny Hawley, Kathryn Louise Heywood
  • Conservative and Unionist Party: Richard Marshall Alexander Robert Lawrie, Chris J Galley, Duncan Carlyle Crute
  • Green Party: Rachel Sara Featherstone, Jonathan Elmer, Dawn Furness
  • Labour Party: Jude Kirton-Darling, Paul Brannen, Clare Penny-Evans
  • Liberal Democrats: Fiona Jane Hall, Julie Pörksen, Aidan John King
  • The Brexit Party: Brian Monteith, John David Edward Tennant, Richard Leslie Monaghan
  • UK Independence Party (UKIP): Richard Elvin, Christopher Arthur Gallacher, Alan Breeze

Anyone who is not registered to vote should contact their council's electoral services team immediately or go to https://www.gov.uk/register-to-vote

The Regional Returning Officer for the North East is Patrick Melia.

The North East returning centre and venue for the regional declaration is the Silksworth Community Pool, Tennis and Wellness Centre, Silksworth, Sunderland, SR3 1PD.

This is the same venue that hosted the 2009 and 2014 regional declarations.

Declarations will be made on Sunday, May 26 from 10pm.

The North East region (Darlington, Durham, Gateshead, Hartlepool, Middlesbrough, Newcastle, North Tyneside, Northumberland, Redcar & Cleveland, South Tyneside, Stockton and Sunderland) is one of 12 in the UK.