ENGLAND Under-17 head coach John Peacock has named four of the North East's brightest prospects in an 18-man squad for the European Championship.

Middlesbrough pair Dael Fry and Callum Cooke will join Newcastle United duo Adam Armstrong and Freddie Woodman at the tournament in Malta next month.

Striker Armstrong, who has made several Premier League appearances for his hometown club over the last few weeks, is once again included among the attackers as he looks to build on his seven goals in qualification.

Loading article content

His fellow Magpie, Woodman, is expected to retain the number one jersey after the goalkeeper only conceded one goal on route to the finals.

Defender Fry, from Middlesbrough, is included after impressing for the Young Lions since making his debut against Belgium in January.

Since then Fry has gone on to become a regular in the side, winning a further three caps at the Algarve Tournament in February before helping his country to seal their place at the Championship in the Elite Round qualifiers in March.

Fry will be joined at next month's tournament in Malta by club-mate Callum Cooke. The midfielder, from Peterlee, has impressed several times for his country this season since stepping-up from the under-16s - most notably when he scored both goals in a 2-2 draw with Portugal in February.

The Young Lions will play in the tournament's opening match when they face the host nation Malta at the National Stadium in Ta'Qali at 5pm(BST) on Friday, May 9.

Three days later they tackle Turkey at the Gozo Stadium, kick-off 11.15am, before their final group match sees them pits their wits against Holland at Hibernians Stadium in Paola at 11am on Thursday, May 15.

The opener against Malta will be shown live on Eurosport 2, with the following two Group A matches beamed live on Eurosport.

Should England progress from the group stage, then both the semi-finals and the final will also be shown live on Eurosport's two channels.

The England U17 squad in full: Goalkeepers: Freddie Woodman (Newcastle United), Sam Howes (West Ham United) Defenders: Jonjoe Kenny (Everton), Mandela Egbo (Everton), Dael Fry (Middlesbrough), Taylor Moore (RC Lens), Joe Gomez (Charlton Athletic), Tafari Moore (Arsenal) Midfielders: Lewis Cook (Leeds United), Ryan Ledson (Everton), Joshua Onomah (Tottenham Hotspur), Callum Cooke (Middlesbrough), Josh Sims (Southampton) Forwards: Demetri Mitchell (Manchester United), Patrick Roberts (Fulham), Dominic Solanke (Chelsea), Adam Armstrong (Newcastle United), Isaiah Brown (Chelsea)