FOUR of Britain’s individual medallists from 2011, including three champions, could be absent when the team for this year’s European Indoor Championships is announced tomorrow.

Britain won eight medals when the event was last staged in Paris, with Mo Farah and Helen Clitheroe claiming gold over 3,000 metres, Jenny Meadows being awarded the 800m title after Russian Yevgeniya Zinurova was banned for doping and Dwain Chambers taking silver over 60m.

However, next month’s event in Gothenburg is not on double Olympic champion Farah’s schedule, while Clitheroe and Meadows must decide whether to compete - if selected - and Chambers is relying on selection after injury ruled him out of this month’s trials and he finished a distant fifth in his comeback race in Birmingham at the weekend.

Loading article content

Meadows was second in her first race since September 2011 in the British Athletics Grand Prix, but was inside the qualifying standard with a time of two minutes 2.86 seconds.