Boro kick-off delayed after travel chaos

First published in Sport The Northern Echo: Photograph of the Author by

TONIGHT'S Championship game between Leicester City and Middlesbrough goes ahead, but kick-off has been delayed to 8pm.

There has been heavy snowfall all afternoon in the Leicester are, but referee Roger East has deemed the pitch at the King Power Stadium playable.

However, there has been extreme congestion in Leicester city centre all afternoon, and the Middlesbrough team coach was unable to make it to the ground.

As a result, the players were forced to abandon the coach and walk the final half mile to the stadium.

Tony Mowbray has made two changes to the side that lost against Watford last weekend, with Justin Hoyte and Andre Bikey replacing Nicky Bailey and Lukas Jutkiewicz.

LEICESTER (4-4-2): Schmeichel; De Laet, Drinkwater, Morgan, Konchesky; Marshall, Keane, James, Knockaert; Nugent, Wood.

Subs: Logan (gk), Vardy, King, Dyer, Waghorn, Gallagher, Moore.

MIDDLESBROUGH (4-3-1-2): Steele; Hoyte, Hines, Bikey, Friend; Haroun, Leadbitter, R Williams; McEachran; Ledesma, McDonald.

Subs: Ripley (gk), Reach, Bailey, Smallwood, Thomson, Emnes, Jutkiewicz.


Comments (1)

Please log in to enable comment sorting

8:22pm Fri 18 Jan 13

freelance says...

walk the final half mile................
...they'll be knackered
walk the final half mile................ .................... ...they'll be knackered freelance
  • Score: 0

Comments are closed on this article.

Send us your news, pictures and videos

Most read stories

Local Info

Enter your postcode, town or place name

About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree