Match Preview: Darlington v Spennymoor Town

First published in Sport The Northern Echo: Photograph of the Author by , Deputy Sports Editor

Darlington have named an unchanged team for this evening’s top-of-the-table clash with Spennymoor Town.

The same XI that defeated Durham City 4-0 on Saturday are chosen again, but there are changes on the bench.

New signings Jonny Davis and Nathan Thomas, who have signed from Hebburn Town and Sunderland respectively, are among the subs.

Arjun Purewal is also a sub after returning from a month on loan with Whitby Town.

Making way are Shaun Reay, Michael Sweet and David Mitchell. Reay has been released and today joined Newton Aycliffe.

In the Moors teams are former Quakers Chris Mason and Anthony Peacock.

They defeated Billingham Synthonia 2-0 to reach the fourth round of the FA Vase on Saturday while they boast an impressive record in the league.

They are undefeated in 19 matches, drawing only twice, while Quakers have lost four of their 24 games, drawing none.

Spennymoor are seven points behind leaders Darlington, but have five games in hand, so Darlington arguably need a win more than this evening’s visitors.

Darlington: Bell; Harrison, Brown, Tait, Scott; Emms, Galbraith, Gott, Thomas; Dowson, Amar Purewal. Subs: Porter (gk), Arjun Purewal, Thomas, Jonny Davis, Nicholls

Spennymoor Town: Dean, Griffiths, Laws, D Moore, Mason, Capper, C Moore, Graydon, Davison, Cogdon, Peacock. Subs: Rae, Richardson, Stephenson, Phillips, Ruddy

Send us your news, pictures and videos

Most read stories

Local Info

Enter your postcode, town or place name

About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree