Pardew names strong line up for Newcastle game

First published in Sport The Northern Echo: Photograph of the Author by

ALAN Pardew has named a strong Newcastle United side for this evening's Europa League group game with Maritimo.

The Magpies kick off at St James' Park knowing a win will guarantee a place in the last 32 of the Europa League with a game to spare.

Pardew has named his strongest starting XI of the tournament so far, with Tim Krul getting the nod in goal and Danny Simpson, Fabricio Coloccini, Steven Taylor and Davide Santon forming what is effectively a first-choice back four.

Hatem Ben Arfa makes his first European appearance for the Magpies at the apex of midfield, and will be flanked on either side by Sylvain Marveaux and Sammy Ameobi.

Papiss Cisse starts as a lone striker after missing last weekend's Premier League defeat to Swansea at the behest of the Senegalese FA.

NEWCASTLE (4-2-3-1): Krul; Simpson, Coloccini, S Taylor, Santon; Anita, Bigirimana; Marveaux, Ben Arfa, Sammy Ameobi; Cisse.

Subs: Elliot (gk), Tavernier, Williamson, Ferguson, Abeid, Amalfitano, Ba.

MARITIMO (4-5-1): Salin; Diogo, Roberge, Rosario, Ferreira; Dias, Luiz, Miranda, Simao, Sami; Adilson.

Subs: Ricardo (gk), Fidelis, Olim, Briguel, Antonio, Brigido, Guilherme.

Send us your news, pictures and videos

Most read stories

Local Info

Enter your postcode, town or place name

About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree