A GROUP Of unsung heroes have been recognised at a special awards ceremony.

Eight awards were handed out at Richmondshire District Council’s Making a Difference in Richmondshire awards on Wednesday, April 23.

Joint winner of the young person of the year award went to Aaron Auton who provides an invaluable service to the people of Brompton-on-Swale by delivering newspapers when the village shop discontinued service; and Sam Woodgate, a youth worker encourages confidence in young people.

Loading article content

Three winners of the volunteer of the year award went to Prudence Nunn, who runs Colburn Amateur Dramatics and ensures the village hall continues to survive; Dr Jagannath Sharma for promoting cross cultural understanding among different communities; and Martyn and Sue Coates, who are an integral part of the Croft on Tees community, organising many events and always willing to help.

Hayley Elliott from Gilling West took the carer of the year award for going above and beyond what is required of her.

Leyburn Tourist Information Volunteers and Leyburn Library Volunteers were joint winners of the community group of the year; Richmond YMCA – New Horizon Project and Richmondshire Gymnastics Club were joint winners of the community initiative of the year.

Joint winners of the sustainable project of the year award went to Thoralby Parish Council and Gilling West Parish Council for their flood prevention schemes.

Green project of the year award went to Just the Job Environmental Enterprise.

Business of the year award went to Richard Sanderson, a businessman from Leyburn, and parish council project of the year award went to Hawes and High Abbotside Parish Council for its play park project.