TEAMS of budding mathematicians have taken part in this year’s annual East Durham Schools Maths Challenge.

The event, which took place at The Lubetkin Theatre at East Durham College’s Peterlee Campus, saw 11 teams of four battle it out for top honours.

The teams taking part were from St. Bede’s, Dene Community School, Easington Academy, Seaham School, The Academy at Shotton Hall and Wellfield secondary schools.

Loading article content

Presided over by East Durham College governor Fred Harrison, the Year 10 and 11 students took part in six fiercely competed rounds, which included a mix of maths questions and problem solving tasks.

St.Bede’s prevailed with an impressive winning score of 52 points giving them a ten point margin over runners-up Shotton Hall with 42 points, who were just two points ahead of last year’s winners Seaham who came in third with 40 points.