A PHILANTHROPIST, a post-conflict specialist, the Chair of the Science and Technology in Society forum, a composer, biographer, academic publisher, physicist and the chairman of Scope are to receive honorary degrees from the University of York this week.

Sigrid Rausing, Rae McGrath, Koji Omi, Philip Moore, Claire Tomalin, Dr Richard Barber, Professor Sir Christopher Llewellyn Smith and Dr Alice Maynard will be awarded honorary doctorates at the University’s graduation ceremonies on January.24 and 25.

The University confers honorary degrees on individuals who have made a significant contribution to society. Recipients often have existing links with the University and are chosen from nominations made by its members.

Loading article content