MORE than 100 schools in the region are closed or operating with reduced staff today as teachers walk out in protest at industry changes.

Around 60 schools in North Yorkshire will shut for the day, while about 40 others will partially close.

The strike has been organised by the NASUWT and NUT which have accused Secretary of State Michael Gove of refusing to engage with unions about changes within education.

Loading article content

Celia Foote, NASUWT national executive member, said: “Gove’s education reforms are diametrically opposed to the best international practice and the professional and evidenced views of educational experts.

“In addition, the removal of the requirement for qualified teachers to be employed by schools can only further the negative impact his attacks are having in schools.”

A further day of action is planned in the North-East on October 17.

The Department for Education spokesman said it was disappointed that the unions were striking over the Government's measures to allow heads to pay good teachers more.

The schools in North Yorkshire due to close or partially close on Tuesday include:

Closed: Allertonshire School; Bedale High School; Croft Church of England Primary School; Easingwold School; Eskdale School; Glaisdale Primary School; Hambleton Church of England Voluntary Controlled Primary School; Leyburn Community Primary School; North and South Cowton Community Primary School; Richmond School; St Nicholas Church of England Primary School, West Tanfield; Stokesley Community Primary School.

Partially closed: Boroughbridge Primary School; Carlton and Faceby Church of England Voluntary Aided Primary School; Carnagill Community Primary School, Catterick Garrison; Le Cateau Community Primary School, Catterick Garrison; Hambleton/Richmondshire Pupil Referral Service; Hawes Community Primary School; Hipswell Church of England Primary School; Hutton Rudby Primary School; Leeming and Londonderry Community Primary School; Malton School; Middleham Church of England Aided School; Risedale Community College; Sowerby Community Primary School; St Francis Xavier School; Stokesley School; Thirsk Community Primary School; Thirsk School & Sixth Form College.