A COUNTY Durham band has emerged triumphant in a regional music competition ahead of more than 300 other acts.

AfterShock were named the winners at the Soundwave Music Competition held at the Newcastle O2 Academy which was a celebration of the best unsigned acts in Northern England.

The pop-punk trio, which was only formed in September 2011, consists of Scott Hepple on vocals and guitar, John Dickinson vocals and bass, and drummer Ross Barnes.

Loading article content

More than 300 acts started out in the competition with only 12 making it through to the live final.

Aftershock, who are from County Durham, saw off competition from Below The Bridge, Black Nevada, Dynamo, Face The Republic , Harwood Drive, Jamie Lee Harrison, Kiss Your Commander, No Idea, Public Secret, Qualia, and Silva Method to win the huge contest.

In order to reach the final, the band, who list their influences as Feeder, Blink 182, and The Gaslight Anthem, passed through several tough audition stages.

A spokesman for the competition said: “The standard was absolutely phenomenal this year and we had some brilliant bands involved.

“The final crowd turnout was unreal and it was great to have local unsigned artists on the main stage where greats such as Adele and The Enemy have played.”

The final of Soundwave was played in front of a capacity crowd at the O2 Academy and the winner was decided from an audience text vote and by a panel of industry experts.

The evening was hosted by Matt Bailey from Capital Radio and was completed by an acoustic performance from local singer songwriter Jamie Devine.