MITo offers style at expense of substance

The Northern Echo:

11:37am Saturday 18th October 2014

IF YOU don’t experience the same kind of feeling you did during your first schoolyard kiss on clapping eyes on Alfa’s MiTo then check your pulse. If you do be sure to keep that in mind when you’re driving it.

What's in a name - Renault's long-winded load lugger

The Northern Echo:

5:59pm Tuesday 14th October 2014

WHAT'S the most protracted car name ever? Take a deep breath and welcome the Renault Megane Sport Tourer GT Line Tom Tom Energy dCI 130. With a name as long-winded as that they'd need an extra-wide boot if the full name were attached to it.

New Yaris wants to be loved

The Northern Echo:

12:49am Thursday 9th October 2014

TOYOTA’S overhauled Yaris aims to appeal both to the heart and the head, so does it pull it off?

Fun comes as standard with new Aygo

The Northern Echo:

4:53pm Thursday 2nd October 2014

‘GO fun yourself’ is the rather risqué tag line for the revamped Toyota city car. So did the Aygo put a smile on my face or leave me cursing?

Hatch of the Day - new MG tested

The Northern Echo:

9:51pm Tuesday 30th September 2014

MG3 FORTY years ago the advertising men (and they were undoubtedly men) at British Leyland thought they knew their advertising demographic for MG.

Fast Jag makes a big noise

The Northern Echo: New Jaguar F-Type is lifestyle to the max

5:14pm Monday 29th September 2014

APPRECIATION of Jag’s new supercar is best expressed in sounds not words, so I’ll do my best to convey an experience like few others.

Honda's Tourer de force

The Northern Echo:

8:28pm Wednesday 10th September 2014

GOT a winning hatchback design, but want to offer a bit more room? Bolt a few more panels on and you have an estate. Sorry, sorry, a tourer, estate is so 70s.

Nissan’s finger on the Pulsar

The Northern Echo: (10186997)

10:43pm Tuesday 9th September 2014

NISSAN believes it can shake up the family hatchback sector with its latest model. Matt Westcott travelled to Barcelona to test the new Pulsar.

Ibiza is the place to be in 2014

The Northern Echo: Ibiza I-Tech:  Seat's best-selling small car is better value than ever before and helping lead the Spanish manufacturer's product-led fightback

12:50am Thursday 28th August 2014

AFTER a brush with near-death Seat is fighting fit and setting new sales records in the UK.

Mother knows best

The Northern Echo: Volvo XC60 D4 SE Lux Geartronic FWD

8:36pm Monday 25th August 2014

I’M not one to disagree with my wife, well not to her face anyway, and she reckons this is not just the best crossover she’s been in, but the best car full stop. I dare you to say different.

Hauling grass - Peugeot 308SW

The Northern Echo:

8:52pm Monday 18th August 2014

“WHAT’S a station wagon dad?” It’s a good question. For the past 60 years or so we’ve called them estate cars but, before then, they were called station wagons.

Groovy mover - BMW 1-Series secondhand selection

The Northern Echo:

1:48pm Wednesday 13th August 2014

BMW 1- Series IT took BMW the best part of ten years to come up with a suitable response to the runaway success of the Audi A3.

Fiat's 500L Trekking - muddy two shoes?

The Northern Echo:

3:19pm Friday 1st August 2014

BRINGING the Fiat 500 back from the dead was an inspired idea. The cheeky little city car has been Fiat’s best-seller ever since.

Cooper does it just like that

The Northern Echo:

8:14pm Friday 18th July 2014

THE Cooper name should be used with respect. So is the latest MINI Cooper S a fitting tribute?

Suited and booted - the new Seat ST FR

The Northern Echo:

4:40pm Wednesday 9th July 2014

FASHION, passion or practicality - that’s the perennial headache designers have to juggle with when they sketch a new estate car.

Leon ST goes haul in

The Northern Echo:

7:45pm Thursday 3rd July 2014

On the road: THE Leon benefits from being built on the same chassis as the VW Golf and Audi A3 and as such bears many of their characteristics, including above average handling and a ride that should suit most drivers. On occasions it can be deceptive, in a positive note, driving not unlike a saloon. The 1.4 TSI engine is quiet and refined and has enough power for every situation.

Vauxhall's new Meriva - small car, big news

The Northern Echo: Vauxhall's new Meriva - small car, big news

5:56pm Monday 30th June 2014

A couple of weeks ago, I asked if there really was a place for honest-to-goodness family hatchbacks in today’s market.

BMWs are torque of the town

The Northern Echo: M3 and M4

3:22pm Sunday 29th June 2014

ONE engine, two cars – and a whole lot of torque.

Full phat milk!

The Northern Echo: The milk float makes its run

5:41pm Thursday 26th June 2014

A SUPERCHARGED milk float has picked up a new world record after reaching a speed of 84mph on a racing circuit.

Jaguar adverts banned for focusing on speed and encouraging dangerous driving

The Northern Echo: Jaguar

12:00am Wednesday 25th June 2014

ADVERTS for Jaguar have been banned for focusing on the cars' speed and encouraging dangerous driving.

Honda, Mazda, Nissan recall cars over airbag fears

The Northern Echo: Honda Civic - the hatch that keeps raising the bar

10:22am Monday 23rd June 2014

JAPANESE car giants Honda, Mazda and Nissan are recalling millions of vehicles worldwide amid fears that a defect in airbags manufactured by supplier Takata Corp could cause them to explode.

I can 'C' clearly now...

The Northern Echo: I can 'C' clearly now...

9:06pm Sunday 22nd June 2014

I FEEL a bit sorry for the Citroen C3. It’s a perfectly good car: smart, well-built, comfortable, practical and cheap to run.

For VW the only way is up!

The Northern Echo: The Volkswagen e-up!

12:30am Saturday 21st June 2014

NOT a car for those proud of their Yorkshire heritage. No, the e-up! is Volkswagen’s foray into the world of electric motoring. More models are planned, so how does this trailblazer fare?

Golf estate puts boot into rivals

The Northern Echo: Golf estate puts boot into rivals

9:50pm Monday 16th June 2014

THE regular Golf is one of the best cars in the world, so does the estate mirror those credentials?

Green machine

The Northern Echo: Green machine

9:47pm Sunday 15th June 2014

EVERYBODY loves SUVs, right? People love the way they look, the upright driving position, the interior room and the big boot.

German cars are the most satisfying, say British motorists

The Northern Echo: Volkswagen’s Up!

1:03am Thursday 29th May 2014

CARS made by German-owned manufacturers are the most satisfying, according to a survey of more than 15,000 motorists.

Sun shines on new Nissans

The Northern Echo: X-Factor: The all new X-Trail

11:34am Thursday 22nd May 2014

Motoring writer Matt Westcott headed to Portugal for the launch of two important Nissans.

Nissan's finger on the Pulsar

The Northern Echo: Nissan Pulsar

9:35pm Tuesday 20th May 2014

THIS is the car Nissan will put up against the all-conquering VW Golf.

Honda's NSX supercar for Goodwood

The Northern Echo: Honda's new NSX

10:46am Tuesday 29th April 2014

THE ground-breaking NSX supercar, powered by an innovative three-motor Sport Hybrid Super Handling All-Wheel Drive (SH-AWD) system, and set for launch in 2015, will take centre stage at this year’s Goodwood Festival of Speed.

Government to invest £500m in drive to get more using electric cars

The Northern Echo: There are still nagging doubts about the all-electric Nissan Leaf

12:00am Tuesday 29th April 2014

THE Government is to invest £500m in a drive to get more travellers using electric cars.

More spent on keeping cars on road than anything else, survey finds

The Northern Echo: Thief walks out of store with new bike

10:59am Thursday 10th April 2014

NEARLY half of drivers in the UK spend more disposable income on their car than anything else, according to a survey.

Toyota recalls 35,000 UK cars over airbag faults

The Northern Echo: Toyota Yaris Icon+

10:01am Wednesday 9th April 2014

TOYOTA is recalling more than 35,000 UK cars after it discovered faults that could deactivate airbags, cause seats to move while driving and break steering columns.

Suffering's good for the Soul

The Northern Echo: Suffering's good for the Soul

7:43pm Tuesday 8th April 2014

I DIDN’T quite “get” the original Soul. I mean, what was it supposed to be? Did Kia intend for us to buy a Soul in preference to an off-roader, a people carrier or a crossover? Or maybe it was just the oddest-looking hatchback since the Nissan Cube (the one that came with a pointless piece of shag-pile carpet for the dash and no one bought).

Kia sticks the boot in - new cee'd Sportswagon

The Northern Echo: Kia sticks the boot in - new cee'd Sportswagon

6:57pm Tuesday 8th April 2014

WHATEVER happened to the estate car? When I was a nipper we used to see them all the time, chocka with kids, on their way to the seaside or heading to Butlins, in Filey.

Pocket rocket - Fiesta ST review

The Northern Echo: Pocket rocket - Fiesta ST review

5:45pm Monday 7th April 2014

We pit the newest hot Fiesta against its great-granddad - the XR2. The result? A massacre.

Picasso paints a pretty picture

The Northern Echo: Citroen C4 Grand Picasso

11:07pm Friday 4th April 2014

Five seats not enough? Then Citroen has the answer.

Attention-grabbing exterior clothes practical performer

The Northern Echo: Vauxhall’s Corsa Sting has been designed with just one thing in mind – to grab as much attention as possible

3:00pm Friday 28th March 2014

IF you are something of a shrinking violet who likes their car to quietly vanish when you pull up in the office car park then save yourself a couple of minutes of your life and stop reading now.

Honda to cut production at Swindon

The Northern Echo: What's going to be hot in 2012?

12:02pm Tuesday 25th March 2014

IT had to stop sometime. After months of nothing but good news about the UK motor industry, Honda announced today that it is cutting production at its Swindon plant.

Peugeot's Grr-eight new contender

The Northern Echo: Peugeot's Grr-eight new contender

7:32pm Monday 24th March 2014

AFTER surviving a near-death experience earlier this year, Peugeot is a car company reborn.

Honda proves that size doesn’t really matter

The Northern Echo: Honda C-RV

12:00am Friday 21st March 2014

THE latest version of the C-RV promises improvements across the board. One of the main areas is efficiency. So does the smaller engined SUV cut the mustard?

Citroen hopes to Benefit from new tie-up

The Northern Echo: Citroen hopes to Benefit from new tie-up

3:21pm Thursday 13th March 2014

THANK the Lord for the DS range, the one consistently bright spot in the Peugeot-Citroen (PSA) firmament these past few years. It’s no secret that the French giant has had its problems ever since the recession began in 2008.

3-Styling the Mazda way

The Northern Echo: Mazda 3

12:00am Friday 7th March 2014

IT’S called Kodo and it’s the design inspiration behind the new Mazda 3. Call it psycho-babble if you like, but if this is the end result, then who are we to argue?

Top of the Range

The Northern Echo: The new Range Rover

8:35pm Monday 3rd March 2014

IT’S easy to become blase in this job, but every now and then there comes a car that makes you appreciate just what a privilege it is. The new Range Rover is just such a car.

Fancy a Chinese? MG6 tested

The Northern Echo: Fancy a Chinese? MG6 tested

6:03pm Monday 3rd March 2014

THERE’S an old Chinese proverb which says: “The person who says it cannot be done, should not interrupt the man doing it.”

Duster cleans up

The Northern Echo: Duster cleans up

8:22pm Monday 24th February 2014

TALK is cheap - and so is the Dacia Duster. You can have a new one on your driveway, the odometer reading 0000 miles, bobbles on the tyres and that indefinable ‘new car’ smell still permeating the cabin, for less than £10,000.

Citroen's cheeky city slicker - the new C3

The Northern Echo: Citroen's cheeky city slicker - the new C3

5:27pm Friday 14th February 2014

BIGGER, bolder and cheaper to run - what’s not to like about the cheeky new C3 from Citroen?

A prickly customer? The new Citroen Cactus

The Northern Echo: A prickly customer? The new Citroen Cactus

3:56pm Thursday 13th February 2014

MY WIFE sometimes accuses me of wrapping my cars in cotton wool (by which she means I don't leave the remains of a half-eaten sandwich in the passenger door bin) - but I have never wrapped a car in bubble wrap.

Muddy two shoes - Subaru Forester review

The Northern Echo: The new Forester - can it put Subaru back on top?

5:11pm Wednesday 12th February 2014

SUBARU has an image problem in this country. How ironic that the car that made Subaru a major player in the past decade - the Impreza STI - should be so spectacularly responsible for an inexplicable failure to rebrand as a purveyor of fine 4x4s and easy-to-own SUVs.

Insight into hybrid motoring

The Northern Echo: Honda Insight

10:39pm Monday 10th February 2014

ELECTRIC and petrol power combine to provide Honda’s riposte to the Toyota Prius. But does what works on paper actually work in practice?

Nissan Renault forging ahead

The Northern Echo: PROTOTYPES: Nissan boss Carlos Ghosn at the launch of the new Qashqai last week

12:09pm Friday 7th February 2014

The Renault-Nissan Alliance sold a record 8,266,098 vehicles in 2013, propelled by record sales in the car group’s two largest markets, China and the United States.



Local NewsYourNorth-East




Blogs

click2find


About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree